We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Gaborone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Gaborone”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have stayed in 4 other Gaborone hotels as I come to Botswana often on business, but this was my first time staying at the Mondior. I was very impressed. The front desk staff is wonderful - very friendly, always eager to helpful and I have seldom experienced such impeccable housekeeping at a hotel. The rooms are spacious and quiet and there is a great restaurant that is on the premises but not affiliated with the hotel - News Cafe. It is a South African chain and offers a great menu throughout the day - not to mention excellent coffee! It's also nice because you're not locked into ordering from the hotel's restaurant; you can order in, buy groceries, etc. The rooms have decent internet, they have safes, separate showers/baths and even a nice kitchenette, which can be nice if you have leftovers or go to the store. I will definitely be returning and would recommend for business travelers in particular.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank garspolyglotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    75
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
32
9
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Reasonable check in procedure, bit slow and detailed form filling was a pain. (why make it compulsory to get my home tel number and birthdate?). However: clean, spacious rooms with good facilities in the room, decent bathrooms with good amenities. Good bed and linen. Internet access is slow and expensive but at least it is wireless. No restaurant in house but News Cafe is next door. Menu is a bit limited but there is enough to choose for a short stay. Breakfast is limited in the health option department, but the coffee is good.
Road noise is a bit annoying during the day, but it is quiet at night.
There is no gym and the pool is not open at present, also the area is not conducive for running due to roadworks.
Other than that, quite good value for a business trip, although with current traffic, it is about 40 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bizfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Think the hotel is situated a little bit off-side. In other words not close by anything, unless you have a car. Reception told me possible to walk ca 15 mins to a mall that facilitates an ATM.

Courteous staff at the front-desk. Accepting that things just take a little bit extra time in Africa. Big spacious rooms although interiors took me back to the 80s. Has a little kitchenette. Washroom has both shower and tub. No card keys but old fashioned big keys. Felt quite safe though.

There is a café just outside hotel on the same property which service delicious breakfasts. They bill it to your room.

Missed complimentary water bottles, especially since no 7-11 store equivalence near-by.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svensktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, as was Gaborone itself. The staff in the reception was helpful, efficient and smiling. The room was big and comfortable with a perfect bed. I did not have breakfast but the News Café looked more practical than charming.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed at the Mondior for two weekends in Sept.2010. We got a special weekend rate which was very reasonable. Our room was spacious and clean, reception staff friendly and helpful. The pick-up and drop-off at the airport was very efficient. News Cafe opposite was adequate to have a quick breakfast. All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and value for money hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsvai09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

There were three of us and we booked a suite which was excellent. It had two good sized double rooms a bathroom, kitchenette and large living room which was perfect for our needs
There is no restaurant in the hotel so you have to go to the "News Cafe" across the car park which is a typical cafe bar, could be anywhere in the world. They serve international food and it is fine, although most dishes which were supposed to be hot were only warm.
The News Cafe is popular with locals and was packed on the Thursday night and busy on others so quite noisy and slightly disturbed our sleep, but fortunately it didn't close too late.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The Mondior Summit is a very nice hotel.

Rooms are extremely spacious, and very clean. Nice bathroom with separate shower and bath tub, 2 sinks, and the regular amenities (shampoo,conditioner, bath gel,etc.).
Also a small kitchenette, with fridge, microwave, sink, etc. is there.

No in-house restaurant, but there is an excellent News Cafe (South African chain) on the hotel property, which serves nice food (don't expect anything local, though), drinks and especially on Thursdays is a nice place to be! The News Cafe provides the room service meals (until 10.30 PM) and is also the place to get breakfast.

Friendly service in the hotel, maybe not the quickest, but no complaints!

This hotel is not a 4-star hotel like they are stating, but more a very good/decent 3-star hotel (looking from European/US standards).

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diederik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
1.9 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
3.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
Cresta Lodge Gaborone
#9 of 16 in Gaborone
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior Gaborone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior Gaborone

Property: Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Address: Plot 21117 | Cnr Mobuto and Maratadiba Road, The Village, Gaborone, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gaborone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior Gaborone 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy international standards at affordable rates. The 4-star Mondior hotel is conveniently situated in the business district of Gaborone. It offers 67 suites and studios - each equipped with semi self-catering facilities as well as the technology demanded by today's discerning business traveler. All areas have wireless internet access (Wi-Fi). The charm of the hotel lies in its unique African 'chic' style that exudes a welcoming atmosphere. Guests can unwind at the pool, relax in the lounge or dine at the News Cafe restaurant located on the same complex. Conference facilities are available for up to 50 delegates. The hotel features (67 rooms) with 34 Studios, 27 One bedroom suites, 5 Two bedroom suites and 1 Special assistance room. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available.Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peermont Mondior Gaborone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior, Gaborone Hotel Gaborone
Summit Gaborone
Gaborone Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing