We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Ouaga 2000”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joly Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ouaga 2000”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent 6 days in the Joly Hotel. Were were there for a conference that took place over 4 days in the annex of the hotel across the street. The hotel staff were very helpful with the organisation of the conference and every morning, the room was ready to use, air conditioners were on, water bottles on the table, no request seemed too much (within reason of course).
The hotel itself was very pleasant, the bedrooms were quite large and comfortable and very clean. It was a comfortable stay for the whole period.
The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choices and fresh fruit every day - i had the best mangoes ever!
The staff were great, very polite and friendly and helpful
A great stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent most of two weeks at the Joly Hotel in Ouaga (in the Ouaga 2000 section of town). It's a ways out from the center of the city in a suburb with embassies and NGO offices. This makes it a little quieter.

Managed by a brother and sister team from Ghana, July Hotel is a very clean and friendly hotel. The rooms are clean and reasonably large. The restaurant is good and the quality of food is quite good! The staff are very friendly and efficient. The laundry works fine. The WiFi is a bit "iffy" - the only drawback. The draught beer in the bar is a real plus!

They had a number of business events while we were there - with many ambassadors present, so it seems that it is a popular spot for business meetings.

The standard of hotels in Ougadougou is not great. The really big hotels are miserable, indifferent places. The Joly Hotel is a real find and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregv_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here for four nights in January 2013. Many people say that this hotel is the best in the city. Compared to many places outside Africa, it might not be considered that good. I don't speak French, but at least the receptionist at the hotel had enough English for me to get by. the food was average. we also had our business meeting at this hotel. They have their challenges with getting air conditioning write – it was either too warm or too cold. Breakfast was a buffet every morning and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed here for two weeks as I had to attend a workshop at this hotel. Definitely a business hotel and most of the people staying at the hotel were either on business trip or attending meeting/conferences being held at the hotel. The hotel actually has two buildings on the opposite side of the roads.

The rooms were ok acceptable standards and had everything you would expect in a business hotel. The cable TV mainly has French channels but also had one English movie channel and CNN – So was forced to watch Olympic opening ceremony with French commentary which was not really fun –(( it also had free Wi Fi which worked well most of the time in my room ( I was in Room 302)

The best aspect of the hotel for me was the staff. There were only few, who could communicate in English, but yet all of them went out of their way to help me with any request I made – not sure whether this was because I was the only non-African in our group, but they were really helpful if any request I made. The restaurant was ok, but had very limited a la Carte menu so I was eating out most of the nights. But the mangoes served in the restaurant as deserts were some of the best I have ever had (and I have had my share of good mangoes around the world).

The main downside of the hotel is its location; it is situated in Ouaga 2000 which is out of the city centre and all the main restaurants. And since you can’t easily get taxis outside the hotel, you are forced to use the couple of taxi drivers that stay outside the hotel who are quite expensive. There are couple of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, but I would have preferred to stay in a place more central where I could have easy access to other nice restaurants in town.

Will I stay in the hotel, if I visit Ouaga again? Most probably not only because of its disadvantaged location – especially if you are visiting the city as a tourist, but then again I am not sure whether I would ever visit the city as a tourist as there is nothing much to see and explore in Ouaga. But the people are some of the friendliest I have ever met in the world and in a strange way I did enjoy my two weeks in Joly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sriramhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Rooms were very large and clean. The beds are not particularly firm and had thin pillows. We did not notice any noise from nearby rooms. Wi-fi was patchy at best. Restaurant had a small and overpriced menu. Pool was clean but lacked any shaded area to sit nearby.
Staff were polite and happily moved us into another room when our roof leaked following a large rainstorm. A couple of staff members spoke English and were willing to assist in negotiating in French with taxi drivers.
Clean and perfectly functional hotel but it is in the middle of nowhere. We stayed there for a work conference, but I don’t know why you would stay out in Ouaga 2000 area unless you needed to (or unless you have a car/driver). There are one or two taxis that loiter outside the Joly Hotel, but without options, the price is obviously high for any journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Accra049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terneuzen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you want to sleep well, have clean room with lots of hot water and english speaking staff in Ouaga, go to this hotel.

Ouagadougou is not Las Vegas when it comes to hotel accomodation. Especially in the 'not to expensive' class for business travellers there was not much more then the strip of hotels on Nkrumah avenue ranging from 'not very pleasant' to 'pretty awful'.

The Joly has Ghanese / Burkina staff which makes for excellent English, rare enough in Burkina. TV offers quite a range of English language channels.

Staff is helpful and keep the premises spotless. Breakfast is a full bufet. Meals are good, especially the West African fare from all the countries in the region.

The Joly is located in Ouaga 2000, ten minutes by car from the city centre, a shuittle bus is provided. Internet connection is a challenge but not more then in other hotels in the country.
A VSAT hookup would well be worth the investment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesweethome007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were there during a business trip for 3 days. Joly was a new facilities in the middle of nowhere. City center is quite far. The level of cleanliness is far below the international standard. But I guess that is one of the top in terms of local standard of Burkina Faso. The staff were courteous.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taslimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
0.6 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#1 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#7 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Karite Bleu
Le Karite Bleu
#2 of 33 in Ouagadougou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#22 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kavana
Hotel Kavana
#15 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#12 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joly Hotel

Property: Joly Hotel
Address: Ouagadougou 00226, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Joly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Joly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing