We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Maintenance well below par”
Review of Joly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joly Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms at the Joly Hotel are poorly maintained, particularly in the bathroom where fixtures like the shower rose where either missing or falling of the wall (6 different rooms shared this fault). Rooms are quite large in the main building but with very spartan fit out, there is an annex across the road but did not try it.
Service at the front desk was patchy, 5 times I asked for an update on my laundry service and 5 times told it was about to be delivered to my room (it took a further 12 hours to arrive). When requesting currency exchange I was told they did have the correct amount so was paid a partial balance and told the rest would be delivered later. This did not happen and only a repeated request to front desk saw the correct monies exchanged 24 hours later.
Check out was ludicrously slow.
The Joly is located in the Oauga 2000 district and the lack of hotel competition in this district is obvious.
Room rate around US$200 equivalent... for questionable 3 star quality... Go figure???
Consider staying downtown

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Notcomingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam Amada O, Directeur général at Joly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear value client,

Thanks for expressing your dissatisfaction. We apologize for the inconveniences that you must have experienced during your stay. We are putting all measures in place to ensure these things do not happen again.

Once again we apologize to you and we hope to receive you at JOLY HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel was very nice. Most of the staff knows english and they were very friendly. Manager(lady) will
care for you by asking whether you had breakfast/lunch/dinner...asking did u got good sleep. More over the place where it is located was pleasant. Night clubs and market were nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NethajiPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam Amada O, Directeur général at Joly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear NethajiPrince,

Thanks a lot for pleasant comment. Our aim is to let our dear guests feel comfortable and have a home away from home.
We assure you that we will always work harder to improve upon the quality of our services.
We hope to receive you again at JOLY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel situated in ouaga 2000 area , not too far from center. Basic decoration but all necessities are present. Big rooms, also very clean. Nice and helpful staff. I recommend for business trips.

Breakfast is poor for mediterranean standards (even for the french i should say) needs to be improved. But definitively clean.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank gp1973-tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in Joly Hotel for 4 days. I went to Ouagadougou for conference.
The room was clean, the space was large. The breakfast was great, with many choices of bread, fruits, tea, ginger juice, and local dishes. The restaurant for dinner was also good, we ordered the onion soup and hog fish twice! The WIFI service was good. The staffs were helpful.
Although we booked our room in advance, the hotel over sold the rooms, we had to squeeze two of our team members into one room, and so did the other customers. That was the only one defect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent 6 days in the Joly Hotel. Were were there for a conference that took place over 4 days in the annex of the hotel across the street. The hotel staff were very helpful with the organisation of the conference and every morning, the room was ready to use, air conditioners were on, water bottles on the table, no request seemed too much (within reason of course).
The hotel itself was very pleasant, the bedrooms were quite large and comfortable and very clean. It was a comfortable stay for the whole period.
The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choices and fresh fruit every day - i had the best mangoes ever!
The staff were great, very polite and friendly and helpful
A great stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent most of two weeks at the Joly Hotel in Ouaga (in the Ouaga 2000 section of town). It's a ways out from the center of the city in a suburb with embassies and NGO offices. This makes it a little quieter.

Managed by a brother and sister team from Ghana, July Hotel is a very clean and friendly hotel. The rooms are clean and reasonably large. The restaurant is good and the quality of food is quite good! The staff are very friendly and efficient. The laundry works fine. The WiFi is a bit "iffy" - the only drawback. The draught beer in the bar is a real plus!

They had a number of business events while we were there - with many ambassadors present, so it seems that it is a popular spot for business meetings.

The standard of hotels in Ougadougou is not great. The really big hotels are miserable, indifferent places. The Joly Hotel is a real find and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregv_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here for four nights in January 2013. Many people say that this hotel is the best in the city. Compared to many places outside Africa, it might not be considered that good. I don't speak French, but at least the receptionist at the hotel had enough English for me to get by. the food was average. we also had our business meeting at this hotel. They have their challenges with getting air conditioning write – it was either too warm or too cold. Breakfast was a buffet every morning and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
0.6 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ouagadougou
220 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#4 of 31 in Ouagadougou
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#20 of 31 in Ouagadougou
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#7 of 31 in Ouagadougou
17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kavana
Hotel Kavana
#14 of 31 in Ouagadougou
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joly Hotel

Address: 2 Bp 6149, Ouagadougou 00226, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Joly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing