We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay and work in Ouaga”
Review of Le Karite Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Karite Bleu
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This guest house is a pleasant oasis in the city. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated. (My bathroom was quite large.... almost as big as the room itself.) Everything in the bathroom worked fine except for very low water pressure my last morning there. There is both an air conditioner and a ceiling fan (which I preferred). Staff is pleasant and accommodating. They provide breakfast, and you can order lunch and dinner from a nearby restaurant. A couple of good restaurants are within an easy walk. Internet connection is painfully slow, but was reliable. The garden is pretty and peaceful, a good place to work or have meetings. The location felt totally secure, and I had no hesitation leaving my computer in my room when I went out. I was booked here by my local counterpart and spent several days... I enjoyed my time here and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the public spaces; I was glad to have a room that offered more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great to be back again, and the garden is more exquisite than before. More welcoming shade, in fact near complete for the entire garden, a real canopy of green.
The art has changed, and really very interesting works again, featuring the local talents (Interesting to know the owners have now set up a sister gallery in Providence, France).

The old Tortoise has not changed and still ambles around the backyard. The Bru bird, maintains his stately presence looking into the mirror of one of the back rooms, searching for his mate who died a few years ago. I am sure another mate will appear in the not too distant future.

The pizzas till come from the Paradisio Pizza Restaurant which makes the best Pizzas in West Africa! So you can enjoy these whilst sitting in the garden...you do not have to inhale the fumes and be barraged by the noise of the Paradisio.

The 6.05 am in the botanical gardens is only 250 meters away, and do not be late to cross the busy street

My favorite room remains the yellow room, with its window view of the back garden. A welcome rest from the fast pace outside the high walls!

If you want a 5 star Hotel this is not the place, but then why would one bother. They are all through the world, and much the same to me. I love the charactor and the characters.

Room Tip: Go for the yellow room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is not a straightforward place to review.

Le Karite bleu is a bed&breakfast. But then, it charges around USD 100 a night. That is the dilemma.

In order to appreciate the place, one has to visit Ouagadougou. The residence is definitely a paradise in the town. It blends with the outside yet has character. The garden is well designed and comfortable. It is a great place to enjoy, relax and rest.

But hotelwise, it is problematic. the bed is not comfortable. toilet and showers are too basic and need maintenance. Mosquitoes and other insects are invincible and determined to torture you. credit cards not accepted and then only VISA. Cash accepted but not USD. Checkout is strict at noon even if there is no one to check in. Strictly no English spoken. 2/3 taxis arranged by the hotel were good but the one who overcharged was protected by the staff quite unreasonably. The airport is very close to the town and aircraft can be heard anywhere in town but this hotel is literally on the ascent/descent route of the aircrafts and they pass over your head (including night time of course). The basic shelters have no noise protection and all through the night one can hear street noise (premises close to a main road). Breakfast is typical French and could have been better.

The friendly atmosphere is attractive and this place will appeal to many. But those looking for a night to rest should go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed in a lovely typical West African "case"-red clay wallets, thatched roof, gorgeous artwork, old and new, from the bedroom walls to the toilet paper holder. Lush garden, works by multiple contemporary Burkinabe artists, very helpful staff, lovely location, helpful friendly owners, aLl at very good prices.

Room Tip: The individual cottages are superb. We stayed in the Mossi; it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bltntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just stayed in Karite Bleu. I have been a regular over the last 10 years. It is continually getting better. The garden setting is magnificent, and they have now added a Jacuzzi (the first in Burkina!!!). The staff are some of the most courteous I have ever met in any hotel in the world.
The latest art exhibition is stunning, and it is fabulous that they continue to show top local artists in their magnificent setting. Only 150m from the Botanical Gardens. A fabulous oasis, but book in advance. Magnifique!

Room Tip: Outide rooms allow you to enjoy the garden and general ambience. Try the Peurhl room...or the Yell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent one night at the Karité Bleu on the 26 December 2011, arriving late in the evening, 5 persons. The friendly staff and the nice garden made the stay positive in a town like Ouagadougou. Quiet and relaxing.We did not hear any dogs or cocks! The rooms are small and some of our group did not like the beds, The breakfast was OK, fruit juice and coffee or tea, white bread with butter and jam (french style) we were sitting in the lovely garden looking at all the african decorations and birds... The hotel is a bit outside the town center and it is not easy to get there unless you have a car or you can take a taxi (not easy to get) we were on a private tour and had our own cars. I still think this place is definitely worth trying

Room Tip: The hotel is very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarnaMontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the Karite Bleu for 4 nights this past November.

Pros

- Nice garden atmosphere
- European breakfast
- Wifi
- Hot water

Cons

- Mosquitoes in the rooms

Overall, this place was a refreshing place to stay in Ouagadougou. Our room was basic, with a private bath. It is not close to the center of town, but in a nice neighborhood not too far away. The only problem was this was the one place on our trip that we dealt with a lot of mosquitoes. They provided nets to sleep in, but there were quite a few bugs in the room. I would stay here again as it is a nice place for the middle of Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linear U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
0.0 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ouagadougou
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#4 of 31 in Ouagadougou
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#8 of 31 in Ouagadougou
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavana
Hotel Kavana
#14 of 31 in Ouagadougou
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pavillon Vert
Le Pavillon Vert
#11 of 31 in Ouagadougou
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Karite Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Karite Bleu

Address: BP 9891 06 Ouaga | Zone du bois, Bd. de l’ONATEL - Porte 214, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range: £65 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Karite Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing