We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Ricardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ricardo
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Cabrera, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A charming hotel, very comfortable, attractive prices, one places rather incredible by his situation in the city.
The swimming pool is completed and the service also ,It is the hotel which agrees very well in the journeys even on long lastings

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pneri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
3
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed here for roughly a week (8 nights) and it was my third time at the Ricardo. The positive aspects of the hotel haven’t changed since: The restaurant serves very good and properly prepared food (no risk for your health at least for me), the staff at the restaurant is very friendly. The pool area is still nice but could need some refurbishment. You have Wifi Internet with good speed almost everywhere in the Hotel. Some drawbacks from my most recent trip: I good a poor little rooms and the end of the building since the hotel was completely booked. Only at the end of my stay the offered me another room, which was a lot nicer and exactly the way I remember it from my previous stay. They should have sold that room for a cheaper price. The room was also to far from the wifi network, so no internet.
The most adverse thing that happened to me this time was the staff at the reception which was a real pain. Roughly 2-3 days prior to my departure they started constantly asking me when I am going to pay my room! I felt treated like a person that looks like running away from a hotel without paying and they really started getting on my nerves. The last days of my stay I avoid going through the reception area and the restaurant. When I wanted to pay the room a day before my departure the VISA machine did not work so I had to go to the next ATM and paid cash the morning of my departure like in every other hotel around the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

In this bustling Capitol, this is an oasis of friendly service and clean lodging.
The lobby and bar are relaxing locations for meal or social gatherings. The pool is quite popular and a great place for breakfast in the morning.

Also they provide great food.
The rooms are functional with A/C and large bathrooms

I highly recommend a stay here, if you find yourself in Ouagadougou for a night or a week

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Munro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Used to live in Ouaga years ago and regularly used the Ricardo pool and ate by the poolside. This is the first time I have stayed there. The rooms are fine - not luxurious, but good a/c and hot shower. Staff are generally charming and service is very good - particularly when compared to most local venues. Food is excellent but pricey by local standards. The ambience is exceptional. Downsides are that the pool gets crowded in the afternoons with visitors from the town and on weekends is like Piccadilly circus, so hardly a place to relax. We took a taxi arranged by the hotel and although it was in very good condition and the driver was prompt we were charged 6 times what a local person would have paid. We didn't have much room for negotiation, since the hotel is out of town and there are no transport options. If at all possible, hire a car and driver for your stay (we couldn't do this for various reasons) - it can be done for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Ricardo on 2 separate evenings during a short trip to Burkina. I hope to go back and visit again! The owner Paulina was wonderful and fun to talk with. She has lived in Burkina for years and is knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. The rooms were clean and comfortable with fans and air conditioning-a breath of fresh clean air as the days in between were spent in a Dijibo hotel (city up North and not comfortable at all!). Breakfast was lovely sitting poolside on a warm day. The simple continental breakfast was filling! There was a local artist selling folk-art in the courtyard-very reasonable prices and something unique to take home as a memento!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend before departing from Europe in order to try it because of the good reviews it was getting in trip advisor. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The wifi is good in the restaurant and bar but not so good in the rooms. A view of the lake is remarkable considering that we are in ouagadougou about 10 minutes away from the Center. And the pool is big but usually full of people. The food was very good to excellent. The staff helpful and friendly. Overall the stay there was enjoyable.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Ricardo for several weeks on business and found it to be a great place to stay. The hosts and staff are all very friendly and helpful, the food and service are superior, and the entire place is very clean and well maintained. The Wi-fi enables you to work out by the pool and the surroundings are very calm and quiet. Along the peaceful banks of the dam it is easy to forget that the noise and traffic of downtown Ouaga are just minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
1.7 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#4 of 31 in Ouagadougou
115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
24 reviews
5.8 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ouagadougou
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Karite Bleu
Le Karite Bleu
#1 of 31 in Ouagadougou
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#21 of 31 in Ouagadougou
87 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kavana
Hotel Kavana
#12 of 31 in Ouagadougou
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ricardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ricardo

Property: Hotel Ricardo
Address: 01 Bp 439, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ricardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing