We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs work”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed 3 weeks in May 2012. Bed was comfortable, but otherwise the Silmande is old and tired. The staff are friendly, and do what they can. One of the two elevators did not work for over 2 weeks. The pool was nice but there were not enough lounge chairs and many were broken (rusted in position). Laundy seriously overpriced ($7 per shirt; $4 per T-shirt). Good breakfast buffet. Internet was slow but reliable. Ended up moving to the Azalai Independance for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ez22v30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    45
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
3
9
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

They never answer my request for airport pick up. We were well received at the hotel when we arrived and they did everything to make our stay confortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaethre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I passed through the hotel twice in early December. On both occasions, check out took over 40 minutes as the staff scrambled to colate the bill...only to run out of printer paper when printing the invoice. The rooms, whilst old, were clean and the internet was working and operated at a reasonable speed. The food at the downstairs restuarant was not worth having and we ended up eating elsewhere for all our meals. The hotel is well located. The place is looking a bit run down. As a last resort it is OK, but would look elsewhere next time round.

Room Tip: 3rd floor pool facing. Has view and wifi reception good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaffyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouagadougou hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel Le Silmande is a good representation of what can be expected in Ouagadougou for over 100 USD room. Its particularity is to be located next to a dam and the largest park of the city. A large swimming pool and tennis court are available. Rooms are old, poorly furnished and with a bad humidity smell. The restaurant is average, not delicious, just ok, with a very slow service. In general, staff is ok, but slow and somehow inefficient, however according to the days, you can find one very nice and helpful. After discussion with one of the nicest staff, I understood that due to financial problems and management, most of staff are not anymore motivated.
After a long day and on weekends, it can be pleasant to have a calm moment at the pool. Otherwise it is a bit out of city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicyCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Safe location with nice rooms. Really appreciate the personalized attention of the GM - (note: I do speak French). The in-hotel services and food are a bit pricey, but on par for high-quality hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

First impression, I wanted another hotel but this was the only one open do to a conference. Room stunk like a septic system, Clean as it could be for 30 years old. Little cockroaches in the room. Dirty bath room. Intermitten power and internet....... Now for the good part. I don't write reviews but wow... I had been here 3 nights so far and have a few beer's a night. I have always tipped well. Tonight I was at the hotel bar and paid for my three beers and as I walked out another bar tender/manager stopped me and said I needed to pay for my beer. I tried to tell him I payed the other bar tender so he went and got him. He totally denied that I had paid. He got the so called security guard and wouldnt let me leave till I payed. So not wanting to be put in a 3rd world country jail I paid again......They crappy part was as I walked away I saw the original bartender throw the money I gave him in the tip jar (The exact money I gave him and the generous tip)....... So lesson learned pay as you go with reciepts........ ohh and I'm changing hotel's look for my review on the Lico.............

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kojak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
6.1 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#2 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#7 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#22 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Karite Bleu
Le Karite Bleu
#1 of 33 in Ouagadougou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sopatel Silmande
Sopatel Silmande
#6 of 33 in Ouagadougou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#12 of 33 in Ouagadougou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou

Property: Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Address: Route de Kaya - 01 BP 4733, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sopatel Silmandé Hotel is surrounded by a large fully planted private park overlooking the lake and the dam. As you drive in, lush gardens with blooming flowers, palm trees, waterfall and a cascade welcome all visitors. The 160 rooms and 10 suites have been entirely renovated in a modern corporate style with a touch of African style. Pass the sliding doors, the cool air of the lobby opens onto the Wango lobby bar and Samandin indoor restaurant serving a blend of Mediterranean French cuisine and African specialties. Outside, by the large swimming pool and Jacuzzi, the Beli restaurant and Bar serves BBqued and grilled fresh food and squeezed fruit juices. The 2 tennis court and enclosed children playground welcome sportsmen of all ages. Nearby there is a horse riding club and slightly further a golf club. Jogging is also possible around the dam. 4Km from the city centre and 5 from the airport (shuttle) the hotel is in an ideal place to start your city or business trip. The hotel offers 160 rooms , 10 suites, all spacious, modern with lot of facilities. A parking with more 50 parking spaces. Delicious meals in our buffet restaurant/Bar or Lounge, open for breakfast and dinner or a lunch or drink. Sound proofed rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibar, wifi and flat screen television. The hotel is situated in a trendy surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing