We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cost n problems”
Review of Reserve de Nazinga

Reserve de Nazinga
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Ouagadougou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The wildlife protection policies of this game park, run by Canadian environmentalists, directly contribute to the healthy elephant population of Burkina Faso.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cost n problems”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Its 200km frm OUA. 3hrs drive. If u go for rent a car frm OUA it will be Cost 35000 to 40000FCFA u hav 2 buy fuel. Fuel cost around 20000FCFA.Food n other cost dpnd on u. If u want 2 come back OUA same day then u hav to start frm OUA at 5.30 to 6am. But aftr all of this its not sure that u will abail 2 meet wid animals. Coz they dnt wait for us. I did nt see any animal. Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank Khandkar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    45
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A few days in nature”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

In the dry season you can not miss the elephants. The huts in the camp are very basic but the nature and animals are a very good compensation. The park is a paradise for bird watchers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scincus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway in the Bush”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nazinga Ranch is quite a long drive from Ouagadougou. The paved portion of the trip is easy and uneventful, but once you make the turn in Po, that all changes. The dirt roads are half the journey but take 80% of the travel time. Once you make it to the entrance of the Park you must pay a fee to enter (roughly 10,000 cfa or $20). There are different rates for those who speak no French and cannot convince the guard that they live in Burkina. There is a car charge and a camera charge as well. I have no idea how well the camera charge is enforced and we were never once asked for receipts in the reserve and nobody searched our car to determine if we had more cameras then we paid for. Once inside the park we saw elephants and baboons along the side of the road. After the 1.5 hour long (40km) trek past the park entrance to the actual ranch there were even more animals around the water hole.
The accommodations at the park are dismal. There is no A/C and electricity is only on for 4 hours starting at 1800. The restaurant has food, but it is a you get what we serve or managed to kill that day, kind of menu. The food is terrific, but the drinks are warm. It is hotter in the rooms than outside, but you can light a fire and sit around it. A flashlight is mandatory because it gets very dark at night. It is kind of neat to go to the observation deck at night and spotlight some animals across the water hole. You can see antelope, wart hogs, monkeys, baboons, crocodile, and my wife swears she saw a hyena. The elephants and baboons went right through the camp site and it was quite an experience. It was not crowded and while our safari got cut short, it was nice while it lasted. We saw lots of animals and got some great pictures. The rooms were fairly inexpensive (15,000 cfa), and for a bit of extra money they will keep the generators running for a few more hours. If you stay in the park, bring a sheet and wet it, ring it out, and sleep under it. You will sleep much better.
I wish I would have stayed at the hotel just outside the park. It has A/C and it does not cut the power out in the middle of the night. They serve all three meals and it is not terribly far from the ranch where they have the safari guides. It also comparably priced for much more amenities.
All the numbers I could find online were bad. I have included the only number I could find that worked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank OuagaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The place to see elephants”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Comfortable cases, nothing fancy, basic food at the restaurant - but the chance to see elephants in large quantity! There is other wild life there but the elephants are the reasons why one goes there!

Helpful?
2 Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So unique”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Nazinga was a one of a kind experience. The elephants came right up to our bungalows. I loved that it was secluded, but very comfortable. We also saw baboons, Koba, warthogs, and crocodiles. We woke up to the elephants bathing in the lake. Very lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reserve de Nazinga also viewed

Ouagadougou, Centre Region
Ouagadougou, Centre Region
 
Ouagadougou, Centre Region
 

Been to Reserve de Nazinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing