We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place, overpriced”
Review of Splendid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Splendid Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed there a couple of times and I must say that i have not been impressed by much. The service is usually not very prompt and the food is highly overpriced. There are many other alternatives for lodging in Ouaga, and the Yibi hotel across the street seem like one i will be looking into the next time around.

You will be assaulted by hordes of vendors whenever coming and going.

The beds seems old and are just not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Repe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I found this very poor for the price. If it had been a cheap two star hotel I might have thought that they were doing their best. But you pay a lot for these rooms and they are not good - amazingly hard mattrasses, the rooms smell of old smoke and the facilities are really basic. I dont mind an empty minibar - but the fact that I had only one plug so had to choose between fridge computer and television was not handy. The room was very poorly lit which made working difficult.
All in all overpriced and not much comfort in spite of the stars!
The coffee bar across the street is a nice place to visit for a good cup of coffee and a good pizza too

Room Tip: The street side is pretty noisy - but there is also a side with a lot of noise from the mosque - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyhugotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Whoever gave a 4-Star rating to Splendid hotel has done travelers a huge disfavour. For a hotel that price, their customer service is nauseating. There is something wrong with the architecture itself. The AC unit is mounted just across your bed, facing the pillow. So the cold air is aimed directly at your head.

I changed from the "old" side to the "new" side. The price difference was 30$ and the only thing is that the toilets are cleaner.

The only positive thing is the location - at Kwame Nkrumah avenue.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is in the "old" or "new" splendid before you head there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NnennaWestAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was my first time in Splendid Hotel, Ouagadougou.
I arrived late poste midnight and eventhough I had a prebooked and paid reservation through my Agent, it took the receptionist 30 to 40 minutes to find my reservation - not to deny that he was very cooperative.

The Lobby is wide and neat, the room was wide enough but had only one clothes hanger, the bar was closed and I could not get a drink of water which we had to get from outside the hotel.Toilet and furniture was OK when compared to local African hotel standards.

The breakfast was not bad.

The second day the shower was out of order and i have asked to bemoved to another room, which was on the fourth floor, and then the room smelled like dead rats and there were weird sound of tiny birds or mice which no one could explain!!

but i would like to emphasize the fact that all the staff were highly cooperative.

The pool looked not bad, though i did not have the time to use it.

The best thing about this Hotel is its location and the cafe just across the street whcih has a very good Pizza.


for a first time it was an OK stay but i am sorry i will not stay there in my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Splendid in 2012 and it was the right place to be based from as I relied heavily on the cafe across the street for internet and breakfast and I was travelling a lot around the city. The wifi at the cafe is good. The room was simple and surprisingly quiet. But if you're looking for fancy accommodation, comfort, character or charm, you should try spending more and looking elsewhere. The hotel does have a pool and restaurant but I didn't try the food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butakovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

for a West African hotel it is pretty good the rooms are clean and comfortable but very small the restaurant is good with a good selection of meals . All the staff were very friendly and helpful and you can not beat the location right in the center of town 5 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

For the cost of U.S. Dollars 175 the hotel is not great. But choices in Ouagadougou are limited. The airport of Ouagadougou is located in the center of the city, and the hotel is not far from it, with a taxi costing 3 or 4 USD.

Room Tip: pool side (toward the back) was quiet except for the loudspeaker from morning prayers around 5 am th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernstlutz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#14 of 31 in Ouagadougou
57 reviews
0 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
33 reviews
0 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#5 of 31 in Ouagadougou
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#4 of 31 in Ouagadougou
225 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kavana
Hotel Kavana
#15 of 31 in Ouagadougou
11 reviews
0 mi away
La Rose des Sables
La Rose des Sables
#8 of 31 in Ouagadougou
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel

Address: Avenue Kwame N'Krumah, Ouagadougou 1715, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range: £97 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Ouagadougou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing