We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good memories”
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Spent 3 nights on a business trip. Rooms and facilities are old and rundown, the TV is small, old, and no English channels that worked. Food is some how ok, tried only chicken and fish. Staff are not friendly at all, but will help none the less. Location is perfect, 2 minutes from airport,

Room Tip: Front side rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb_bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

In the restaurant, I saw roaches roaming the walls.
Two reception desk staff were totally unfriendly and only smiled when i produced my visa card.
Restaurant staff are at least friendly and responsive.

Room Tip: Do not choose the last room in the first floor (right wing). Too much noise from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murenju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent 5 nights on a business trip. Rooms are dim, facilities are old and rundown, the TV is small, old, and no English channels that worked. Food is ok, but I only tried the steak and fish. Staff are not friendly at all, but will help none the less. Location is perfect, 2 minutes from airport, and smack in the center. Safe neighborhood to walk around. Not the best place to stay, but from what I heard (from the company in Ouaga), its much better than any of the other hotels in the center of town. If you can, have a look around before booking this one!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here two nights last Monday after being bumped by the UN Secretary Ban Ki Moon's party from Laico Hotel, who are attending a conference with the World Bank and African Union this week.

It's a 3 star hotels that could be 1 or 2 stars where smoking is permitted inside the hotel. I noticed smoke sand astray along the corridors of our floor (4th). Our room is facing behind the hotel which I think has better view (dusty parking garage with a huge tree) compared to the street view in front. Everywhere you look here seems dusty.

Entering our room I was met with a smells like a laundry not dried properly. The carpet seems to be the only thing new in the room. You'll have a garage-like closet, a tv with only one English Channel (French English news channel), and a bathroom with an exposed toilet pipes. You can never roll your eyes here to BYOP guests, in-fact it's recommended to bring your own pillows. Bed sheets with hole in them and frankly you'll just have to deal with it.

I completely lost my reservations of good things for the hotel with the staff. I would think they'd have good training to be able to get a job at all but, it seems like they prefer to be somewhere else. They are not friendly, hardly able to speak anything other than French, looking-tired and seemingly bothered with the guests.

However, there's of course few redeeming factors of the. Three; centrally located, working aircon, and a working hair-dryer.

Burkina Faso is a country where ranking in the Human Index ranking is one of the lowest if not the lowest. But, you'll see road infrastructure, the friendly people and the bustling city is comparable to any developing countries where religion and tribalism seems to be non-existence. I'm here only 2 nights, but I'd come back anytime to learn more of its people who can remind you that there more to this place than their run-down hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

i stayed here for a month recently and found the hotel to be a disgrace even by African standards. The rooms are tiny and filthy especially the toilets.Avoid the restaurant and all costs the reason it is so dark is so you can not see the cockroaches that plaque the place or notice the undercooked food. The staff are unfriendly at the best of time but usually downright rude.

Room Tip: find a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a very overpriced hotel. Back to the 70's: everything in the hotel is old, no investments have been made for a long time. Curtains with holes in it, dirty old towels, bathroom with broken tiles and where you don't want to walk barefeet.

The most horrible of all, the hotel is equipped for smokers! On each corner there are ashtrays and upon opening the door of my room I was welcomed with a disgusting smell of smoke mixed with the heat of Ouaga. Yuk!

What are the goood points? Well, the breakfast was nice and it's location is very close to the aiport and to restaurant Le Verdoyant. Banks with ATMs are just opposite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Spent a week at the Palm Beach during a networking visit to Burkina Faso. Rooms were clean though hotel looked like it could do with a facelift. Layout reminded me of the EKO Suites Hotel in Lagos.

The breakfast was continental.

Staff helpful and friendly. Didn't get hassled.

Got some presents from the hotel gift shop.

Close to good restaurants.

Wi-Fi free and reliable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouagadougou hotels
0.8 mi away
Bravia Hotel
Bravia Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ouagadougou
27 reviews
2 mi away
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
Sopatel Silmande Ouagadougou
#5 of 31 in Ouagadougou
120 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
Laico Ouaga 2000 Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ouagadougou
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#20 of 31 in Ouagadougou
88 reviews
0 mi away
Le Pavillon Vert
Le Pavillon Vert
#12 of 31 in Ouagadougou
33 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#17 of 31 in Ouagadougou
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Address: 10 Avenue Kwame N'Krumah, Ouagadougou 5557, Burkina Faso
Region: Burkina Faso > Centre Region > Ouagadougou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Ouagadougou
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing