We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Bujumbura”
Review of Le Clos des Limbas

Le Clos des Limbas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bujumbura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos des Limbas
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Bujumbura
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Bujumbura”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I'm currently staying here, and almost everything is great about this hotel. Although close to the city centre, its dense garden makes you feel somewhere in lush nature outside. It's very quiet (actually many people, even Bujumbura old hands, don't even know it exists), and so ideal for discreet meetings, The pool is gorgeous, specially during the evening. Rooms are pleasant and tidy. WIFI works. The staff is kind and efficient, and once you get to know the owner Jacques a bit better, he's not as bad as some reviewers suggest. The architecture is cosy and attractive. Good value for money. And now let's hope not too many guests come flocking in here and disturb my peace.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Filip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Traveled as a couple, we were too skeptical about the previous reviews & about the owner, well the managers (husband & his wife from french or Belgian origin) are amazing people! offered us a bottle of champagne on the first night, helpful whenever u need them (they send the internet company employee because we complained about the internet connection), even they were way friendly with their stuff...
couldn't rate it less than excellent when comparing it to other hotels in Bujumbura, of course if compared to International standards the rating has to be slightly less but still...
For 130$ a night we had a suite, breakfast included, laundry for free, wireless internet (although the internet service in Burundi is still poor),pool, + a jacuzzi in the room (which amazing & value added). the hotel is very intimate, greenery surrounding the place.& again the way the owners or managers are kind people is really off the hook, we had to check out by 11 am but we stayed until 7 pm & they were more than welcoming... they know what Customer care is all about.
will definitely come back to this place & the rating of the place should be much higher.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nader B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Everything could be great: the room was beautiful, the pool is really nice, the area is calm... but the atmosphere is really unpleasant and heavy. I felt quite uncomfortable and really didn't have a restful week end. I guess it is just not for me!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prilyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bujumbura hotels

Kigali
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and it is beautiful. If you have a car, it's about five minutes from the heart of Bujumbura (central market, Havana and Toxic nightclubs, Aroma coffeehouse, etc) and I found its location just off a main road terrific. Despite the fact that it was next to a central, busy road, it was completely quiet and calm within the grounds. I found the hotel to be totally gorgeous with equally gorgeous gardens and a cute swimming pool. If you're an animal lover there are also two large dogs who love to come to sit at your feet. I found the rooms also very nice and unique - very, very pretty architecture and details.

However, the owner is insane. He lives in the hotel and has his own private couch where he sits most of the day to survey all movements and chain smoke cigarettes. His staff are terrified of him (they said this to us themselves!) and he makes life a living hell for them and - on a regular basis - his clients. One morning I came out to find him sitting in his personal chair (looking very much like King Leopold must have looked on the throne) and one of his staff was bent over cutting his fingernails. His behavior is laughable and truly colonial. Despite being told our breakfasts were included (and it also says so on the door of each room which includes information about the hotel), he tried to charge us 40 USD for the two mornings we had breakfast. He literally screamed at my husband to pay him immediately ("tout de suite!!!!!") and refused to take off the 40 USD. He's totally insane.

So overall the hotel was gorgeous and the Burundian staff (mostly young women) were terrific, but the owner ruined the entire experience. I look forward to the day he sells the hotel and the new owner is sane and lives in the modern day. When that happens, this hotel will be five stars in my book.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sjt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks and was simply blown away by the beautiful grounds, stunning architecture and friendly staff. There truly is no other hotel like it in the city. The owners truly know their client (mostly expats from international organizations) and what they want. It's the type of place where you feel right at home, quite a contrast from the remarkable poverty which is found just beyond the gate.

I had a smaller room (80/night) on the ground floor which was nice enough. It had AC and a large bathroom. The rooms upstairs are the best with beautiful verandas and flat screen TVs. The meals are the best I've had in the city and served on nice china. The hotel is not open to outside guests so it feels very intimate. The manager even made a special order of frogs legs for me one night (I had always wanted to try).

You are usually met by a peppy young fella who is the son of the owner and is eager to please. He also has a fantastic dog that enjoys playing with guests. Evenings around the lobby are quiet with the owner's friends often coming in for a visit. Overall, the atmosphere is that of chic lodge.

Now for the big but. As you may have noted in other reviews, the owner (an older francophone man and architect of the hotel) verbally abuses his staff and, for all intents and purposes, is blatantly racist. You see this a lot in Bujumbura when you meet the older generation of Belgians/French who settled here. They are similar to the Afrikaans South Africans who basically view indigenous people as inherently inferior. I will admit, I was disturbed by his behavior.

Fortunately, this type of thinking is dying out with the newer generations so it's up to the guest on how they may view it. I would go back, if only to reap my own praise on the excellent staff and help them realize that the majority of people in the world have long overcome the colonialist past.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel, nice grounds, friendly staff and the manager was very personable, as well. Rooms were clean, prices vary between $80 (USD) and $117 (USD), I wouldn't recommend any of the rooms towards the back of the hotel as they are dark and cramped but most of the other rooms are quite nice and roomy, especially the ones overlooking the garden. They have mosquito netting over the bed, air conditioning, internet access and satellite television. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is quite substantial. For breakfast you start off with a fruit salad, coffee/tea as well as juice (generally pineapple) and then you can order yoghurt (if available), an omelette, toast and/or croissant with jam. If you are staying here for a while the breakfast does get a little repetitive but you can check with staff and they will usually let you special order crepes or whatever you want the day before.

I know that they offered lunch as well as dinner at an extra cost. I never was around for lunch but stayed for dinner a few times which cost $20 USD (drinks non-alcoholic and alcoholic are extra but both varities are cheap by Western standards). The dinner was very nice, normally comprised of three courses (soup, main dish, and dessert) just make sure to alert staff in the morning or afternoon that you plan to be in for dinner. They normally had a selection of three mains to choose from and the quality of the food was very good. You can always finds something cheaper in Bujumbura but if you don't feel like venturing out this is a great alternative.

All in all I did enjoy this hotel, the only draw backs are the hotel is not in the city centre you have to take a taxi into Bujumbura (I wouldn't recommend walking) which costs about 2500-3000 BIF and the hotel as with many places in Bujumbura only accepts cash in USD, EU, and GBP.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honthorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

zero service, the arrogant + incompetent French (or Belgian) manager seemed unable to manage the few rooms they have at the hotel as nobody cleaned my room and after 3 requests for fresh towels, still never happened. For USD 118 a night, for a place in the middle of nowhere with a mediocre breakfast, a very poor value.

Non-french speakers definitely do not seem to be welcome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bujumbura hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
#3 of 23 in Bujumbura
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Ubuntu
Hotel Residence Ubuntu
#14 of 23 in Bujumbura
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Conference Centre
King's Conference Centre
#1 of 23 in Bujumbura
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
#5 of 23 in Bujumbura
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika
0.0 mi away
Goodlife Residence
Goodlife Residence
#6 of 23 in Bujumbura
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Limbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Limbas

Property: Le Clos des Limbas
Address: Des Limbas | 4 rue des Limbas, Bujumbura BP2353, Burundi
Region: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing