We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Palmeraie
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel Jardin Tropical(Bujumbura)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hill Hotel(Bujumbura)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Golf Hotel(Bujumbura)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goodlife Residence(Bujumbura)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort(Bujumbura)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Conference Centre(Bujumbura)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Botanika(Bujumbura)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
51
16
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
16
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoccupancy ratefood serviceshort stayhis teamroom was spaciouslaundry serviceagenciescraneinternetfrenchbusinessairportlakeafrica
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed three nigths in May .Check-in at 2 am was a bit inefficient as first room taken to did not have working AC;changed in 10 minutes. Check out OK
Good points: room is very large ,clean and quiet at night. Bed is firm perhaps a touch hard for some.Wifi works well as does TV but limited choice of programs. Restaurant offers good evening meals.Laundry works well as did the fridge in the room.
Staff is friendly and eager to help; spoke French with them so cannot comment on their English.
Booking done over the Internet worked fine Hotel is close to downtown (about 10 minutes)
Weak points
1)Had a room with a bath+ hand held shower; no shower curtain so water drained on the floor when taking shower.Inquired about changing to a room with a shower only but was told not to bother as floor would still get wet -design issue this time.
2)While room is quiet at night, they all face east and have a standard window(sliding door)+ a half moon one above: standard window has a reasonable curtain but not the half moon one so by six am the sun starts shining in. And birds sing outside and bump into the window. Thus I never managed to sleep past 06h30-a bit early to get up.
3) Breakfast is weak; no yoghurt two kinds of juice,sliced cheese (one kind),cold cut (one kind),toast and croissant and 2-3 kinds of fruit(kept very intelligently in an ice cream type serving unit with covers -avoids flies) I had more choice in the Ibis in Cotonou.
A reasonable choice for early risers or those that can sleep with birdsongs and sun. I would prefer to stay somewhere with a better chance of sleeping till 07h30 but would go back if other choices were not available

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoistheEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at La Palmeraie for a week recently while in Bujumbura on business. I quite liked the place. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom nice and clean. The internet was a bit slow at times, but not enough to really bother me. The restaurant and bar/cafe were pleasant, and the food good. But the service made the hotel stand out. Everyone was very friendly and eager to help, and put up with my bad french. It was a bit difficult to get taxis from time to time, particularly during the morning rush hour, but again the staff was great in helping find one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Excellent hotel in Bujumbura. 10 minute taxi ride from the bus terminal. 5 minute direct walk down the road to Musee Vivant. Situated close to the lake. Safe and secure location. Everything was clean. Wireless internet connection was great. I went in August and it was very quiet and peaceful with only a few tenants around. I booked the night before I arrived via phone and had no problems. A relaxing retreat with good food and a huge bird that may follow you around. Food service was a little lacking. Very clean pool. A large room was also nice. The language barrier wasn't as big of a problem as I thought it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Usually when being in Bujumbura I stay over with friends, but this time I stayed a week here as I was curious to check out myself how good this boutique hotel really is .... Usually it has an occupancy rate of 80 percent or more (I even had to shift room during the week because they could a new guest had paid the full price for the level 1 room where I was in !), while other hotels are scrambling some parts of the year to get a poor 20 percent occupancy rate. This hotel was built and promoted 5 years ago and has it's big mass of regularly returning customers. The room is very spacious with a high ceiling, good quality A/C, big noiseless fridge, good TV, and a real superior king size bed, very large indeed. And a perfect mosquito net around it. All the finishings are of western quality for sure. The staff are mostly quick and always friendly, and your breakfast is made to order in front of you if you want; a large choice of fresh fruits as well. Every morning I had my swim in the big, very clean and well maintained pool. I only had dinner in the restaurant once, and took a 300 grammes steack .... delicious, and that for something like 10 euro ... amazingly cheap. Only negative point is that it can take a while to get a taxi; you have to order them at reception so you actually save time by walking yourself to the main road, which is like 250 metres away. Still, that makes the hotel a very quiet and relaxing place to rest and sleep during your businesstrip.
PS : free airport pickup by the way

Room Tip: You do not need a suite on first floor, already the normal rooms are huge
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Its a very good place to stay, but the service is extremely poor. Once you order food, it will take atleast 30 mins to get it (min). That was annoying.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained which is a BIG PLUS.

Staff cannot speak english, so if you dont know french, there will be some problems for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews