We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a family dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Ubuntu
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Bujumbura
uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful place for a family dinner”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Services are a tad bit slow the food is amazing!! Would recommend it for families. didn't quite manage to see the hippos though. Nice garden, the parking needs more security lights. Friendly staff. be wary of the mosquito's especially at night .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safari76Uganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balneobuja, Propriétaire at Hotel Residence Ubuntu, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thanks for your nice coment, my name is Rudy Ghirini, i'm actually in charge of the restaurant of Ubuntu Residence, the Kiboko Grill. The restaurant is also on tripadvisor, i'll be very grateful if you can make a comment on it or to transfert your comment from Ubuntu Residence to Kiboko Grill restaurant. Looking forward to hearing from you, i send to you my kindest regards.
Rudy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. Good food and ambience. Friendly staff . I don't know French but could manage . The view from my room was breath taking with the lake just in front. A romantic get away could improve on the service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kalpa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Ubuntu Hotel is most famous for being right on Lake Tanganyika where hippos can be seen most evenings. They have deluxe apartment, multi-storied rooms with AC or more basic rooms in a building with no view. I stayed there for 2 weeks upon my arrival in Burundi.

At first, the place seems a bit rough around the edges but once you live in Bujumbura for a time, you realize, it's one of the premier hotels in town. The rooms are comfy if not basic and they have AC which is a must during the hot season. Like most hotels in Bujumbura, it is overpriced to the point of hilarity ($120.00/night) but breakfast is included at least and there is free wifi. Plus, the apartment rooms have a little kitchen and the owner will work out a deal for longer term guests.

The Ubuntu restaurant is the only place in Bujumbura I have consistently returned to since arriving. It has hands down the best brochettes (kebabs) on the planet. They also serve amazingly tasty fish from the lake. The pizzas are probably the best in the city and Tuesday and Thursday are half price night.

The grounds are lovely and have cranes roaming around along with a turtle. It's the perfect place to meet a client around the bar or bring your kids for Sunday brunch.

There are a few downsides. I've had several friends try to pay with their credit cards only to have them not "work" there. Credit cards, in general, are useless in Burundi. During the day, the restaurant is innondated with flies and at night, mosquitos. Service is the usual Bujumbura slow and sometimes the hotel closes its restaurant for special functions leaving the guests with no where to eat.

Additionally, there is a Chinese restaurant next door that rents out its courtyard for weddings so if you are staying there Saturday night and there is a wedding on, you will be lambasted by loud music and drums all night long. When there is no wedding, it's generally quiet. Overall, Ubuntu is a decent place for a week's stay, no longer.

Room Tip: try to get an double story room with kitchen and view of the lake. Avoid the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Very well run place on the lake shore with everything you need and a nice garden restaurant, popular with the Burundian elite. Not very convenient if you don't have your own car/driver but at least there are no nightclubs around it. Oh, but at a price!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bujumbura hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
#5 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Club du Lac Tanganyika
2.4 mi away
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
Hotel Dolce Vita Resort
#2 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Panoramique Hotel by Celexon
0.8 mi away
Roca Golf Hotel
Roca Golf Hotel
#4 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.7 mi away
King's Conference Centre
King's Conference Centre
#1 of 22 in Bujumbura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Ubuntu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Ubuntu

Property: Hotel Residence Ubuntu
Address: Avenue de la Plage, Bujumbura, Burundi
Region: Burundi > Bujumbura Mairie Province > Bujumbura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Bujumbura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Ubuntu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing