We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet connection and nice rooms at the back”
Review of Tou'Ngou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tou'Ngou Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Internet connection and nice rooms at the back”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A bit of a strange set up with two buildings that are connected. The rooms in the front part are nice and spacious, but extremely noisy. I would recommend the ones on the back. I stayed there 3 times. Each time in different rooms. Somehow there always seemed to be something that was not completely right. One time there was a toilet seat missing, the other time there was no hot water, the third time no light. But the absolute best thing about this hotel is that the internet usually works! Even in the rooms…

The bakery on the corner has the best bread of Yaounde (even wholemeal) and also sells coffee. A better option for breakfast than the restaurant! At night I also had a drink at one of the bars down the street. Though it is supposedly not such a safe area, I was not hassled once and we had some great street food.

There is also a popular night club below the hotel. But surprisingly enough that didn't really give any additional noise (maybe because the street is so noisy :-) )

Room Tip: The ones on the back are far less noisy. Try to get one with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa_Scholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
3
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I don't remember when I stayed in such a miserable hotel.
Dirty, noisy (surrounded by bars and clubs, bad noise isolation), uncomfortable, smelly, dark and....a proper labyrinth. I literally lost my around, in the hotel, several time.
Food??? My goodness.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ericmgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yaounde hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are good - particularly the executive rooms - and the wifi is available on all floors. The menu is quite varied, and the upstairs restaurant seems to be a "secret". The hotel is central, and can arrange a taxi for you at any time of the day. A full day's taxi hire is CFA 10 000.00, which is quite good. They do airport collections / drop offs. In all, a good stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hotel Tou'ngou is an affordable mid-range hotel in a central location of Yaounde. The staff is friendly, and the lobby and restaurant have a pleasant atmosphere. However, there are many downsides. First, too many things don't work: the phone in my room to call reception was broken; there was no menu for room service in the room; the internet was spotty and when wifi is down, there are no cables' my laundry took two days to finish. Second, it's noisy, so bring earplugs. I'd stay again if on a budget, but eventually moved to a more upscale hotel for greater comfort.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are barely big enough to put your suitcase down on the floor. A 30,000 CFA room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nairobijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

After being disappointed at my initial choice of hotel, our guide brought us to Tou'Ngou just for the night.
Positives: Within town, just across a 'select' shop, public transport any time of the day, Welcoming and friendly staff, rooms are very clean, smell fresh, furnished with an air conditioner, intercom, long mirror, reading table, wireless internet. Hot bath/shower, hair dryer. 2 restaurants, one on the 5th floor and another on the ground floor, Very good food (al carte service). Excellent view of Yaounde in the night. The day may give another perspective! Some photos are attached.

Negatives: A lot of noise from the bar/entertainment centre on the 5th floor, and surrounding areas. The weekends are especially more noisy with bars working 24 hours, Pentecostal churches at their peak.

Generally a good hotel for budget travellers. Our room cost 35,000 CFA approximately $60.
If you are highly 'allergic' to noise, ask for rooms in the middle floors. We stayed on the 4th floor, and we experienced the peak of noise from the 5th floor and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not the best hotel in Yaounde, but the new building offers very good value for the price. The executive rooms offer a living area, bar fridge, nice bathroom and a good bed and 2 TV's. The restaurant on the 5th floor of the new building have very nice views of Yaounde.

Room Tip: Always ask for the executive suits, in the new building, the rooms are newly built and much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Have stayed in Tou'ngou many times over several years and am well familiar with their competition also. The real problem is that there is not much competition in their price range and near the Bastos area (but do check out Diplomate, Clamantis and Meumi Palace hotels). The hotel is in an incredibly noisy location so get rooms at the back, the back is also a very poor part of Yaounde, safety is not a major issue but beware nonetheless.
Rooms very in prices, the cheapest ones are very small, the medium priced ones are ok and the expensive ones are only expensive as they have a newer airco and flat screen tv (it involves spending nearly 1/3 more). The medium priced rooms are ok in size but cleanliness is a problem everywere. The towels and bedding I got were wet as the 'dryer broke down', the cleaners don't do a thorough job either. The bathroom is ok otherwise. Sleeping is hard near the front of the building because of noisy traffic.
However the most important drawback of Tou'ngou is the horrific service which counts among the worst even in Cameroon. Though heavily overstaffed the people at the hotel at best treat guests with total disregard but at worst are downright insulting, management appears utterly absent. My recommendation is to weigh your options,and check out the other places I mentioned...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
1.4 mi away
Hilton Yaounde
Hilton Yaounde
#1 of 25 in Yaounde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#5 of 25 in Yaounde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tou'Ngou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tou'Ngou Hotel

Property: Tou'Ngou Hotel
Address: B.P: 3626 | Carrefour Etoa-Meki, Yaounde, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tou'Ngou Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tou'Ngou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing