We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent room, very very noisy”
Review of Tou'Ngou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tou'Ngou Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here on a business trip, rooms were average for African hotels; power/generator was reliable, as was water and HOT water. Bed was comfortable and room clean. Staff were attentive and helpful. Only issue was noise from the nightclub downstairs which was hard to avoid. I was on 4th floor and still each night had to wear earplugs (and I normally sleep through anything). Changing rooms didn't help because night club sound was everywhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side to try to avoid the night club sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is my First choice in Yaoundé when it comes to balance cost and service. Not expensive but zith right quality service. I have been there several times in the context of my job as I got . I usually struggle to keep my phone portable but Have always been given it back by the personnel. I have been impressed by the receptionists. They are so helpful and honest. Everytime , I requested a service, I have been always satisfied. I will recommend it to anyone who is seeking for a context where the Price of the room and the service are reasonable.

Room Tip: Two beds rooms are appropiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngoumela Fokou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Its a pretty no thrills no frills hotel, just practical and the best value for money you'll get in Yaounde. The rooms are clean, internet is fairly fast and the staff is friendly and helpful. The new rooms at the back are good. You have a wide choice of cable TV too esp English if you are not a french speaker.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This seemed a grubby and chaotic place. The room I stayed in was very small and noisy. Internet was extremely slow in the room and food wasn't good. I'm sure there are better alternatives in Yaoundé so I'd suggest avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A bit of a strange set up with two buildings that are connected. The rooms in the front part are nice and spacious, but extremely noisy. I would recommend the ones on the back. I stayed there 3 times. Each time in different rooms. Somehow there always seemed to be something that was not completely right. One time there was a toilet seat missing, the other time there was no hot water, the third time no light. But the absolute best thing about this hotel is that the internet usually works! Even in the rooms…

The bakery on the corner has the best bread of Yaounde (even wholemeal) and also sells coffee. A better option for breakfast than the restaurant! At night I also had a drink at one of the bars down the street. Though it is supposedly not such a safe area, I was not hassled once and we had some great street food.

There is also a popular night club below the hotel. But surprisingly enough that didn't really give any additional noise (maybe because the street is so noisy :-) )

Room Tip: The ones on the back are far less noisy. Try to get one with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa_Scholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I don't remember when I stayed in such a miserable hotel.
Dirty, noisy (surrounded by bars and clubs, bad noise isolation), uncomfortable, smelly, dark and....a proper labyrinth. I literally lost my around, in the hotel, several time.
Food??? My goodness.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ericmgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are good - particularly the executive rooms - and the wifi is available on all floors. The menu is quite varied, and the upstairs restaurant seems to be a "secret". The hotel is central, and can arrange a taxi for you at any time of the day. A full day's taxi hire is CFA 10 000.00, which is quite good. They do airport collections / drop offs. In all, a good stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
1 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Yaounde
Hilton Yaounde
#1 of 25 in Yaounde
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#9 of 25 in Yaounde
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Santa Lucia Complex
#11 of 25 in Yaounde
4 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Diplomate
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tou'Ngou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tou'Ngou Hotel

Address: Carrefour Etoa-Meki, Yaounde, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tou'Ngou Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tou'Ngou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing