We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This lack of quality in a Hilton? Really? At this price?”
Review of Hilton Yaounde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Yaounde
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This lack of quality in a Hilton? Really? At this price?”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Hilton is supposedly the best hotel in Yaounde, but we had a very disappointing experience at the Hilton. Where to begin...
The rooms were quite dirty. I cleaned my bathroom floor to get rid of the hairs.
The water was rusty, and one night a pipe burst, so we were without tap water for many hours. The front desk was less than helpful, saying that the problem would be fixed in a few minutes (it took around 6 hours) and that we would get updates in our rooms (we didn't).
The elevators sometimes got stuck, one time stranding me. (Most times 3 of the 4 elevators worked, but if the elevator was stuck on the floor you were on, you were out of luck.)
The staff were not unpleasant, but for the most part they didn't pay us much attention.
The food was edible, but not what one would expect at this price.
The US State Department has just issued a warning about travel to Cameroon and has noted many kidnappings. Security is minimal at this hotel, with no barriers to cars entering and no screening of vehicles or people.
The bottom line is that if this weren't a Hilton and we weren't paying over $300 a night, I might not be so displeased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenFoodiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrick C, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TeenfoodiesMom,

First of all I would like to apologize for the several inconvenient you have faced during your stay with us.

I will try to break it down and respond individually to each point:

.- The comments about the cleanliness of the bathroom have been shared with the Housekeeping team and we are now currently emphasizing this message in order to be very careful with such details. Sorry for the unpleasantness and be assured that corrective actions will been taken.

.- The water supply cut you experienced during your stay was due to a main pipe breakage. This due to massive electric supply interruptions that the City of Yaoundé has been suffering in the past weeks, the amount of water released once the pump starts over generates breakage. Without looking for excuses but more specifically to provide you with full details of the situation during that specific event. To fix a main pipe, we must interrupt the circulation of water for few hours. This incident occurred around 19H30 and the water supply was interrupted at 20H00. This issue was solved at 00H00. In the meantime we have provided information about the situation, updates on the evolution, mineral water to all rooms and alternatives to our Guests. I'm sorry to hear that we were not as effective as we thought since you have obviously been misinformed. I apologize for this and I will cascade this feedback to the Guest Service center of the Hotel.

.- The only Elevator that was presenting some challenges has now been repaired, the missing engine to repair it was coming from abroad which caused some delays and to avoid having disruption in the service we placed it OOS. Sorry of this was an inconvenient during those days, it was nevertheless the only and best choice we had.

.- Regarding the security, I cannot share all the equipment nor the manpower we use or have but I can guarantee that we are in compliance with all safety and security standards that Hilton Hotels and Resorts requires and also what the destination implies.

Dear Teenfoodiesmom, if you ever come back to Cameroon, please contact me first and I will make sure you will have an unforgettable stay this time since it is not the type of taste that we want our Guest to leave our Hotel.

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    280
    120
    37
    17
See reviews for
22
29
51
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Yaounde' is a modern city and has many international visitors and is said to be bilingual, english being the second language, this is not entirely true. For the rest of the city I understand and respect, for the hotel I jsut dont understand why it is not a priority to teach all the staff to be able to have simple conversations in English. As someone who could not speak French I was seriously frustrated. The bathrooms must be changed, they are really old and not so comfortable to use. I had to constantly use a shower. The hotel MUST invest in a spa...this is imperative. I stayed for 10 blessed days and I hope to have a few spa sessions from my hard and long days..there was none and that is painful and NOT expected from a HILTON hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nomalungisayoko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrick C, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Nomalungisayoko P,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Yaoundé during your recent visit to Cameroon.

It is through the feedback from Guests that we can improve our services, therefore thank you for sharing it us.

It is clear fact that although English is the second language most spoken in Cameroon since it is officially a bilingual country, due to our location the prominent language is French.
I can reassure you we provide not only courses in English, but all kind of training materials are in English and we have intensive online courses for some of our team members that wish to excel their level of English. We will continue working in that specific area and we apologize if you found communication difficult at times.
Regarding the SPA, we do have some facilities like Sauna, Hammam, 2 massage rooms, Jacuzzi, Fitness center and the amazing outdoor pool that I'm sure you could enjoy. Of course these features do not mean we have a Spa but we like to think that is similar to it.

Perhaps next time you will have time to book yourself a massage a combine it with the Hammam!!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Most five star hotels have 3 or 4 English language news channels. The Hilton Yaounde has 1, and it wasn't functioning on my set. After half an hour of heavy lifting, housekeeping replaced my defective set with one that got CNN. Why no BBC or Al Jazeera English? Search me.

The pool closes early, so evening swimmers should swim in their bathtubs. Room service and breakfast are OK but expensive. My bill was over $400, which is a lot.

The card keys are not linked to the power system, so you can leave your room with the TV, computer and lights all on while you're away. This is not very green.

Excellent location.

The forex quotes a rate of 450 to the dollar. I've never heard such a poor rate in West Africa.

I'm glad that Conrad Hilton is not around to see what's happened to his inheritance.

Room Tip: Away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrick C, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Constanttraveler71,

thank you for sharing your experience and mainly for choosing the Hilton Yaoundé during your recent stay in April.
I'm sorry to learn that the overall stay was not as impressive as you expected it to be and I would like to apologize for the fact that CNN had some disruption during your stay. It has been fixed now.

Regarding the TV selection, please allow me to highlight that we offer different variety of news channels in French and English since this is bi-lingual country. Some national channels provide news both in English and French in order to respect both languages heritage.

I apologize if the closing time of the swimming pool could not meet your needs, we are open from 9am to 7pm in order to close when daylight is gone, since it's an outdoor pool this is the best solution in terms of safety. We can only be open during those hours and it is also when the lifeguard is on duty.

I'm glad that you liked our room and the breakfast, the Hilton Breakfast is very popular and renown around the globe. Especially now that the Hilton Yaoundé has its "Miss Breakfast" offering homemade pastries to our Guests.

I really hope that we can welcome you in the near future and show you that Conrad Hilton legacy and vision are well spread around our team members, making sure we keep the promise to fill the earth with the warmth and light of Hospitality.

Kind regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is best located in yaounde very close to the all the Ministries and in hardcore down town area. The hotel lacks good food especially for Asian travelers. The rooms are excellently furnished and very well maintained. The housekeeping is par excellence. There is hardly any sitting area in lobby and the tea lounfe is a bit cramped and small in size. A good business hotel but not worth the amount they charge for. It out of sheer compulsion we have to choose this hotel for business purpose because there are no options with similar advantages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mohinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrick C, Director of Operations at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Mohinder G,

first of all thank you for taking the time to review your stay with other TripAdvisor fellows.

We are happy to read that the overall impression of your stay was positive, the feedback was shared among the Team members this day.
And, we also take note of the areas of improvement you kindly shared.
Regarding the food for Asian guests, I `m happy to say that our buffet offers once a week a themed menu with dishes and delights from the Asian Continent. We try on a daily basis to include offers that can suits all palates and likings. Our Restaurant "Le Pachy" has various dishes from Asia as well.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back.

Best regards,

Hendrick Calles
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I think that is the best Hotel in Yaoundé. The Hotel is clean and the attention very good. Breakfast and meals are very good also. The wifi works perfectly, although the speed is not that fast. The hotel has a swimming pool and the employees are very kind. If you have to goto Yaounde do not doubt and book in this hilton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honore-guiondogno, Responsable relations clients at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur Rosso
Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi le Hilton Yaoundé pour votre séjour et d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre expérience via Tripadvisor.

Nous apprécions énormément tous les commentaires faits par nos clients et nous nous efforcons constamment de rehausser la qualité de nos standards.

Encore grand merci pour ces mots aimables à l'endroit de notre établissement et du personnel,votre commentaire a été partagé avec les équipes.

Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau au Hilton Yaoundé. Dans cette attente, si nous pouvons vous apporter une quelconque aide, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.
Salutations distinguées
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The staff was great: any issues I had were promptly resolved. The room was clean. It was very noticeable that housekeeping put forth a great effort. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch.
The staff at check-in was very thorough. I would say the rates were excessive but I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again if I'm ever back on Yaounde. It made my visit in Yaounde enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayCeeOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marielle A, Guest Relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear KayCeeOKC,

Thank you for such a rewarding comment. The entire team wants to thank you for taking the time to share it with other travellers.

We will continue to maintain this level!

Looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Marielle Pountié
Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I found the attitude of the Hilton in Yaounde to be terrible and their internet policies really outdated which reduced my productivity immensely. We tried to hold a conference there and the Hilton changed the terms and conditions constantly. We paid $35 a person for lunch for 300 people and the Hilton ran out of food. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marielle A, Guest relation Officer at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

Concerning the internet, we provide per day to our guests, a voucher of 8 complimentary hours to use WiFi in public areas. For those who have an Executive room with access to the Lounge, there is a connectivity station for guest use in the Executive Lounge. Our Hhonors Gold and Diamond receive the inroom internet access complimentary.We are really sorry that our policy reduced your productivity.

Regarding the conference and lunch, we apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve.

Because your satisfaction is very important to us we would be happy to welcome you again and revert the image left during your last stay. In other words we would like to "Make it right" to you. Please contact me for your next planned trip to Yaoundé.

Best regards,


Marielle Pountie
Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mont-Febe
Hotel Mont-Febe
#15 of 25 in Yaounde
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#4 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Yaounde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Yaounde

Property: Hilton Yaounde
Address: Boulevard du 20 Mai, Yaounde, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Region: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Yaounde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Yaounde 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city's central business district, Hilton Yaounde hotel is the only international hotel in Yaounde, is walking distance to government offices, local corporations and is only 30 minutes from Nsimalen International Airport by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service. The hotel features 248 rooms and suites, 16 flexible meeting and banqueting room, a well equiped Business Centre, 5 restaurants and Bars, a Fitness club with an outdoor pool, an indoor Mall with 14 shops, and is ideally situated to explore local activities and tourist attractions including the National Craft Market and National Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Yaounde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Yaounde Hotel Yaounde
Yaounde Hilton
Hilton International Yaounde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing