We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I go to this hotel as it is the best option I know in Praia. Very well located, but personnal is not exactly friendly, and most of the food you'll have here is imported. Some rooms have problems such as disfunctionnal TV or leakeages in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mukubalao, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
We sincerly thank you for having taking the time to write about your stay a Hotel Santa Maria We consider this a great oportunity to evolve and improve our services...
We are going to take in consideration and improve in the matter that you have mencioned We would like to invite you to came again, we did some reforms so you can enjoy our renewed services Once again we thank you for sharing with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    32
    11
    14
See reviews for
8
31
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Residencial Praia Maria is a delightful hotel for your business trip or holiday. The hotel is located in Plateau, Praia and within walking distance of all amenities. The hotel has been revamped during 2012 and the rooms are consequently very smart. The bathrooms are also in a very good shape. Breakfast is included in the tariff and is served in a very neat and cozy breakfast room. The breakfast menu has a wide range of items and you need not leave the table hungry. The only thing that lacks is a lift. Using the staircase to the third floor could be a bit much for older visitors. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner, but there are ample restaurants around the hotel. The area is also very safe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, but some are a bit bigger. Ask for a room with two beds, even if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engeltjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mukubalao, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
We sincerly thank you for having taking the time to write about your stay a Hotel Santa Maria We consider this a great oportunity to evolve and improve our services...
We hope to see you again soon, Please make a new reservation direct on Email hotelsantamaria@girassol.cv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed there 2 nights.
Simples, and nice hotel.
Clean.
Very good location, in the main street of the Plateau (it's a pedestrian street).
Rooms don't have windows, and mine smelled terribly to cigarettes.
Breakfast was Ok, but you cannot be late, otherwise you wont have much choices.
Staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mukubalao, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
We sincerly thank you for having taking the time to write about your stay a Hotel Santa Maria We consider this a great oportunity to evolve and improve our services...
We hope to see you again soon, Please make a new reservation direct on Email hotelsantamaria@girassol.cv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed for a one night stopover in Praia on my way back from Guinee-Bissau to Lisbon. Pro: central location, spacious room, Cons: room without a window, you have to be early at breakfast to get, what you want (if you be too late there is no large choice anymore).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mukubalao, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
We sincerly thank you for having taking the time to write about your stay a Hotel Santa Maria We consider this a great oportunity to evolve and improve our services...
We hope to see you again soon, Please make a new reservation direct on Email hotelsantamaria@girassol.cv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2006

This is a simple and clean B & B in the historical centre of Praia. Breakfast is poor though (assorted dry and stale white breads). This hotel was fine for our purposes as a stopover flying to Fogo. Praia is not very nice...

Helpful?
10 Thank crystal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mukubalao, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Santa Maria, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
We sincerly thank you for having taking the time to write about your stay a Hotel Santa Maria We consider this a great oportunity to evolve and improve our services...
We are going to take in consideration and improve in the matter that you have mencioned We would like to invite you to came again, we did some reforms so you can enjoy our renewed services Once again we thank you for sharing with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vip Praia
Hotel Vip Praia
#3 of 11 in Praia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cesaria
Hotel Cesaria
#4 of 11 in Praia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Tropico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perola
Hotel Perola
#5 of 11 in Praia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santiago
Hotel Santiago
#6 of 11 in Praia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
Hotel Oasis Praiamar
#1 of 11 in Praia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: 30 Rua 5 de Julho | Plateau, Praia, Santiago 273A, Cape Verde (Formerly Residencial Praia Maria)
Region: Cape Verde > Santiago > Praia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Praia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria is located in the historic centre of Praia and a 23-minute walk from Gamboa Beach. It offers a terrace, a 24-hour front desk and a shared seating area with a flat-screen TV. Rooms and suites feature air conditioning satellite TV and free Wi-Fi access. There is a shower in the private bathroom and some rooms include a balcony. An all-you-can-eat breakfast can be enjoyed every morning at Hotel Santa Maria. There are many restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance of this hotel. This property is 3 km from the Presidential Palace and a 6-minute drive from Praia International Airport. An airport shuttle service is provided at an extra cost and you can rent a car or arrange a tour on site. Recently instaled elevator and secured room door lock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Praia Maria Hotel Praia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing