We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never! Never!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Leopol International
Ranked #95 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never! Never!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I'd like to assume most people never opt to stay here! Its old musty and damp! Small dark rooms faulty piping in bathrooms and grimy towels! It was a transit thing , Thanks Ethiopian airlines! Just a night so all I wanted to do was get it over with! I had work colleagues with me so it wasn't so bad, one of them lost his painting there and the staff were clueless! Don't try breakfast its like left overs! Trust me they reccomend that hotel to help out and its a horrible place !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyrock246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    13
    18
    11
See reviews for
3
6
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A 15 hour layover in Addis Ababa left me with Ethiopian Airlines generously offering a free hotel stay, along with transportation to and from Bole International Airport and a complimentary breakfast, lunch and dinner from the hotel's restaurant. Hey, can't beat free, free, and free! We had to wait around a half hour for a bus pickup from the airport, but immigration waived the visa-on-arrival fee as I exited the terminal. Thanks! Nice little bonus. The traffic from the airport to the hotel was bustling, but you are able to see some of the street life that is the Ethiopian capitol city. The staff was wonderful, spoke good English and hospitable to a fault. The hotel is in the center of a noisy stretch of town, with men with guns guarding building entrances. So security is taken seriously here. But it doesn't feel unsafe, if you know what I mean. I took a walk around Bole after I checked in, to see some of the neighborhood. The room, since it was free, I can't complain too much about, but it was a smaller room with a balcony, small bath and generally in need of a deep cleaning. But I got a few hours of sleep, which is what I wanted during my 15 hour layover. The food in the restaurant was okay, they try hard to please you, but their interperation of beef tips was, let's say, interesting. Edible, but not something I have tasted before. But they get an A for effort, because they are unfailingly nice at this hotel. Wi-Fi was complimentary, and welcome, as well as the bar off of the lobby. They had a gift shop, but I couldn't get anyone to open it for me to buy some trinkets.

But they really showed their hospitality when I was waiting for the van back to the airport at 9 p.m. The driver showed up, and we were about to leave, but a late arriving gaggle of guests exited the van so they could eat their free dinner in the hotel's dining room. Very selfish and impolite of the men, and I had to request very nicely that the driver take me to the airport without them, because I had no desire to wait for their poorly planned dinner. After demanding firmly a couple times that we go, and leave the men behind, the hotel agreed and I was off to the airport in time. So they did the right thing by me, and I appreciated being able to stay at the hotel. It was quite an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the direction of the Airport, better views from that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Spent the day here on a return flight from BKK to IAD. Since my layover was greater than 8 hours, Ethiopian Airlines put me up here as they contract with the hotel. Not expecting much, I can say that I wasn't disappointed. Too bad as the hotel obviously once had some charm, but those days are well behind it. The staff does their best, but having little to work with, they can only stretch their resources so far. I actually switched rooms to get my room with no view. The first one was actually worse. In both, the sheets were worn, the towels had holes, the carpet stains, and a faint musty smell. It was the bugs in the bathroom of the first that caused me to switch. Management could make the place into something top notch once again, but it would take a sizable commitment and an influx of capital. In its current state, I would only stay again if I got the room as part of the layover process.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The moquette carpet was filthy. Their vacuum cleaner had apparently broken down that morning and remained so for my entire stay. The bathroom was clean though.

Wireless internet hardly ever worked in the rooms. My colleague was lucky enough to have a room with LAN cable working, but most rooms did not have one. You get 1 hour internet in the lobby which worked about half the time. When it worked it was fast enough for a video call.

There are plenty of good hotels in Addis, I will look better next time

Room Tip: Ask for LAN connection if you really have to stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Booked here with a few others who missed connections at ADD. The hotel is contracted by Ethiopian Airlines to house stranded travellers.
Hotel is OK. Area around the hotel is under construction and quite loud during the day. Food is okay - there are curries and rice and a few salads for each meal. No sweets and one bottled beverage per meal. Only the meals in the downstairs restaurant are included in the free layover meals.

The elevator is tiny. As per Africa - the power does go out fairly regularly, but usually not for long. You don't want to be in the elevator when the power goes out.
Unlimited wifi is included - you can log in multiple devices with the same logon ID. Don't need to log in to wifi in lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms are widely varied - the "01" rooms seem to be nicer and larger. 601, 701 etc. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is under construction, but thankfully the activity seemed to decrease overnight. However, it is next to a busy road, and the sounds of traffic were quite noticeable through the windows which did not shut properly. The room was large but not very homely. Service at reception is indifferent - WiFi was switched off a and no attempt was made to switch it on despite a request to do so. Good dinner buffet and breakfast. This is one of many hotels that seems to be contracted by Ethiopian Airlines to accommodate transiting passengers - for that purpose it isnadequate, but I would not choose to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I spent one night here after missing my connecting Ethiopian Airline flight in January 2013. After waiting endlessly for the pickup bus from the hotel, we arrived to see a poorly maintained hotel with construction going on all around. I can only describe it as the worst hotel I've been in! Very narrow range of food, very tiny rooms, was given an extension box with exposed cables, wifi never worked, furniture in the bar needed fixing... I could go on and on. The 'view' was horrible, items were dumped beside the hotel (in the course of the ongoing renovation, i think). I won't advice anyone to stay here until they get their act together.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#21 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#87 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Adot-Tina Hotel
Adot-Tina Hotel
#59 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Debredamo Hotel
Debredamo Hotel
#72 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamliner Hotel
Dreamliner Hotel
#68 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cyan City Hotel
Cyan City Hotel
#45 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Leopol International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Leopol International

Property: Hotel de Leopol International
Address: Jomo Kenyata Street | Next to Bambis Supermarket, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Leopol International 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Leopol International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing