We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelli Restaurant

Castelli Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 255 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Trier
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

In my humble opinion this place is overrated due to the following reasons:
- the place is a converted house, therefore if you are unlucky you end up in a small square room with only two other tables. When I want to sit in a small room, I might as well stay in the hotel and order room service.
- the food is ok, but nothing special.
- the owner (as mentioned in other reviews) is indeed a total dictatorial nutcase. Very, yes I would even say extremely, unfriendly and arrogant.
Conclusion; we will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    110
    67
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“as traditional as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

the best thing is owner greeting you as you enter, old family restaurant makes you want to hear their stories of 50 years ago. The antipasti of freshly cut cured meats was delicious, as well as the mains. Very generous portions, good service and good house imported wine.
Nothing to complain about, highly recommended if what you want it good old Italian food served in a nice and well kept place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mafalda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,069 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“One good pasta does not compensate for being treated like an idiot. Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Yes, there is one good pasta dish, but, from there on its all Dwonhill, seriously downhill -
The owner, who apparently only smiles when some moviestars or royals come htere, is a complete goon, he does sit on a throne and whatever everyone else has written, it is true, he treats you like an idiot who comex there ot ask for a table!! How could you!

Eat the linguine made of truffle oil, rest forget.
Do not trink open glas of wine, suspect the leftovers are recycled.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethiopia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“homemade pasta at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Revisiting Addis for two weeks and ate twice here, I have never had a bad meal here! Mr Carletto can be a bit unfriendly to others but I have never had any problems with him. We always choose the antipasti.....the fresh grilled eggplant, zucchini, oven dried tomatoes, pulses of all description, cheese, cooked spinach and lettuce which is then drizzled with a dressing. We also always choose the thinly sliced medium rare roast beef and parma to accompany our salads. To follow we go for the home made tagliatelle with truffle sauce and the linguine with gorgonzola sauce....have never been disappointed. To finish you have to try his cassatta with chocolate sauce....absolutely delicious. A shot of grappa aids the digestion. You have to try this restaurant as the food is the best in Addis and if you choose right not at all expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveledEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Fantastic and delicious Italian food, at very reasonable prices (about 7-10 US$ for a main dish). Choice of antipasti, pasta, meat, desserts, but no pizza. Good wine list.

Amazing service, in a gorgeous location. It feels like an old house, and the restaurant is a series of rooms each with 3-4 tables in so you have a quiet and intimate atmosphere.

Highly, highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castelli Restaurant also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Castelli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing