We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee in Addis Ababa -Father of Starbucks”
Review of Kaldi's Coffee

Kaldi's Coffee
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Khalkis, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice coffee in Addis Ababa -Father of Starbucks”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The logo is pretty similar with Starbucks and the local people say that the founder of this coffee place has its roots to the shepherd who founded coffee whose name was Kaldis.

Very busy place in one of the biggest avenues of the capital. Quite difficult to park your car if you dont use the public transport.

Totally recommended for your selection of coffee trials in Ethiopia!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    134
    94
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Starbucks of Addis”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Kaldi's was full every time we visited for afternoon coffee or tea. It seemed this was the Starbucks of Addis. They're all over the place! The coffee was good, the service quick. We shared tables with others it was so full. Pretty loud as well, but a great social hang out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explrtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Almost a copy of Starbucks in Ethiopia”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Kaldi's Coffee place is almost like starbucks but using ethiopian coffee beans and having many other products in this place that you can find in many areas in ethiopiA.
Its good overall but ofcourse not like going to Starbucks itself.
You can have a good coffee with a good price and good locations

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rabih M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Strong coffee, yet awesome ice cream”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped there yesterday and had a reg coffee, was a bit strong for my taste even by other coffee I've had here in Ethiopia. However I was blown away by their ice cream! It was great, the strawberry was out of this world.

Forget the coffee, give me the ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Gregcarter1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good cafe chain in Addis”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Ethiopian version of Starbucks, which even took inspiration on Starbuck's strategy of opening almost on every corner. Wherever you are in Addis, chances are there is a Kaldi's nearby.
I've heard many times that Kaldi's is like starbucks in all aspects, save the coffee which is much, much better in the Ethiopian version. I have to say I completely agree !

Helpful?
Thank ThierryDelahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaldi's Coffee also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Kaldi's Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing