We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this”
Review of Tomoca

Tomoca
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I don't even drink coffee and still loved the scene AND even the macchiato. Nice mix of locals and foreigners, cheery busy atmosphere where you will share your table with people from the neighborhood. You have to come here if you are in Addis even if like me you aren't a coffee person.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    200
    42
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great coffee and bustling scene”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A mix of locals and tourists tomoca is a favorite of all who pass through the doors. With great coffee to take home and superbly prepared drinks on site this is a true institution in Addis. A must visit for a coffee and a taste of Ethiopia where ever you are headed next or call home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MakameKomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good coffee, bustling atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I linked both the coffee and atmosphere. There was no place for me to sit and hardly to stand, but that was ok with me as I enjoyed the buzz of the place.

Headsup: I bought coffee (very good) and even though the package had beans on it, the coffee was ground.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dm1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing Coffe”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I wish there was a better place to sit and watch the world go by. To many people trying to sell or beg in front of the store that can be a real put off. But a visit to Addis is not complete unless you have visited Tomoca.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Cool Old Cafe”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A lot of history hear. You can feel it. Coffee a bit weak though, but then as an espresso drinker, I find all Ethiopian traditionally brewed coffee a bit week.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Miotoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomoca also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Tomoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing