We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Call it guest house.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dimitri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dimitri Hotel
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Call it guest house.”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

It is hard to define this place as a hotel. Never seen a hotel with parking lot only for 5 cars. The tented outdoor sitting place is worned out and during rainy season it leaks everywhere. You are left with three sitting place at the entrance where you risk not receiving any services. The waiters can not see you sitting outside until you run inside and shout out for a service. When you enter the hotel you see two sitting areas, a reception, restaurant, bar, all in one place which makes the place too dark and over crowded.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Borana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitri H, Manager at Dimitri Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our property.

Parking space inside the compound is limited and reserved for room guests. The street just outside the compound provides plenty of unmetered parking space though.

The gazebo is actually off limits to guests, as it is being renovated. We shall put up a sign to this effect, to avoid any confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
4
15
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent a night at Dimitri Hotel for a transit from Dar-Es-Salaam to Rome. It was a great experience.
The hotel is clean and the room comfortable, but the greatest thanks goes to the staff.
Extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner at their restaurant, too...very good!Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emille_naty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good value for money and very friendly staff.
Stayed 5 nights.
Location is also good for communicating to town and close to airport.
Excellent wi fi connection which is free.
Convenient also for getting taxis into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rwilliamson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I spent three nights in this hotel during a pair of layovers in Addis. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, though there can be a language barrier. We arrived quite late the first night, but even though the kitchen was officially closed, we were cheerfully served a decent pizza and some cold beer. The neighborhood is fine, though it is certainly not in the center of town. We found it quite endearing that when we came back for the second leg of our layover, the young woman at the front desk told us we had been upgraded to a better class of room for free -- and then we were shown to the same room we had stayed in before! The food is fine, and room service comes quickly. We had a problem with our TV the first night, and someone was there to fix it in about 30 seconds. This is a place where there is nothing all that special about the rooms, the amenities, etc., but the people are so kind and trying so hard to make you comfortable, it is nicer than many a higher-priced hotel. I would stay here again, absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Really great experience at this hotel! What made it so special? Simple, it’s the people. The colleagues at the Dimitri Hotel are friendly, helpful, and relaxed - it’s like a family. My friend and I traveled to Addis for vacation / adventure, and unfortunately our plane landed at 5am in Addis – we thought we would have to wait until 3pm to check-in, but to our surprise, we were able to check-in to the room as soon as we arrived and took a nice shower and a nap. The hotel manager helped us arrange a plan for sightseeing and was very knowledgeable – answering all of our questions. Breakfast is included, which is really great, you can tell everything is homemade, and the coffee is really high quality. We also had a lunch at the restaurant, and was amazed at how delicious the food was! The beds are comfy and the room features a flat screen TV with many channels / movies to choose from. The bathroom could be improved, but overall the room is in good condition, and very safe. On our last day, we had a lot of free time, as our flight only left at midnight – and again, the hotel manager offered us to keep the room for as long as we needed to store our stuff, relax, perfect!!! One more good thing to add: when I arrived at the airport, I realized I left my camera at the hotel – desperate to have it back (there were so many memoires of beautiful Addis on the camera) I was happy to find that the Hotel located my camera and had alerted me that it was safe via email. I took a taxi back and quickly picked up the camera. Again, I can not say enough good things about this cute little hotel! Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heverlee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

very relaxed atmosphere, staff is very professional but friendly and warm in the same time. decent wifi connection. enjoyed watching soccer on tv with locals in the evening. the owner is a very cool lady. price/value the best in addis I guess ..

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank alexcochez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Dessie Hotel
Dessie Hotel
#45 of 118 in Addis Ababa
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#56 of 118 in Addis Ababa
20 reviews
3.2 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
714 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#17 of 118 in Addis Ababa
215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 118 in Addis Ababa
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitri Hotel

Property: Dimitri Hotel
Address: Yeka, Kebele 16 18 | CMC Road, Gurd Shola, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dimitri Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, luxurious and warmly residential, the Dimitri Hotel located at CMC road offers luxury accommodations and unsurpassed service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dimitri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitri Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing