We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dimitri Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beshale Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Top Ten Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ararat Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manrashiwa Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanaya Guest House(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Nexus Hotel(Addis Ababa)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Afarensis Hotel(Addis Ababa)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Blue Sky Hotel(Addis Ababa)
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (77)
      Filter reviews
      77 results
      Traveller rating
      31
      26
      11
      1
      8
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      26
      11
      1
      8
      See what travellers are saying:
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      5 - 10 of 77 reviews
      Reviewed 5 December 2012

      It was a pleasure staying at the Dimitri. The room was large and very comfortable, staff was terrific and the food was very, very good. I am looking forward to staying at the Dimitri again the next time I am in Ethiopia.

      • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      5  Thank timothyd l
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 15 November 2012

      Thank you Madam Dimitri and your staff! My room was clean and the staff very friendly and responsive to my requests. As a business traveller I appreciated the very fast Wi-Fi network, not only in my room but in the lobby too. While there maintenance was being done on other rooms.

      Would not only recommend this property to others, but I am making it my new home in Addis.

      Bert

      • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank Bert R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 30 September 2012

      We have been travelling to Ethiopia for about six years. They offered a LIMITED selection of what was on the menu. They kept trying to charge me extra for taxi fees after dissuading me from using my regular driver. They went through my room the last day I was there. One day the manager stole money from the ladies behind the front desk as they were counting it. If we had conversations in the hotel with other guests the owner would eavesdrop. The hotel is not located near any markets, shops, etc. Although the room was clean there was a foul odor that filtered through the room if we placed the shower mat over the drain. There was no buffet at breakfast as guaranteed. I have to say I am also in question of the positive reviews.

      Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
      13  Thank Lynnst M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Dimitri H, Manager at Dimitri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

      Dear Valued Guest,

      our staff regrets that your stay was not satisfactory.

      We would like to provide clarifications to the issues you pointed out.

      - Not all items in the restaurant menu are always available. Certain types of fish, vegetables and fruits can be found in Ethiopia during specific months of the year.

      - Guests are free to use any transportation means they deem appropriate to their needs. The hotel only provides a courtesy service of booking taxis, on behalf of the guest, if an airport pick-up or drop-off is requested. The hotel makes sure the price for such trips is fixed and the guest should settle those fees directly with the driver, not the hotel. Fee amounts rarely are published in our website booking engine and at the hotel's front desk. Again, this is an optional courtesy service.

      - Please be more specific in what you mean by “went through room.” Were any personal items missing or misplaced? Did you file a complaint with management? We take such incidents seriously and would appreciate your cooperation in investigating eventual wrongdoing.

      - While the minutiae of how we run our cash registers is not useful to TripAdvisor readers, the gravity of your statement of theft by staff casts an unduly negative image on us. Please note that cash register reconciliation is a procedure carried out regularly in any type of business.

      - The owners of the hotel are only rarely available at the property. When they are, they make an effort to engage with customers to find out if they are satisfied with their stay and if there are any problems which they can help solve. You might have mistaken this effort as “eavesdropping.”

      - Shops, bars, restaurants and clubs are located at a few hundred metres walking distance from the hotel, in the direction of the roundabout, on CMC road. We believe this is an advantage in that there is no constant traffic and noise directly outside the hotel to disturb our guests.

      - Stagnant water in a shower can have an unpleasant smell and we apologize if this was persistent, but it is a matter of ventilating the bathroom.

      - The hotel provides continental breakfast and make to order, not buffet. If you read “buffet breakfast” in a website or brochure, please let us know where so that we can correct this information.

      We invite all guests to point out any issues during their stay. Management is eager to make sure you have a comfortable and positive experience, so that you can recommend our property to friends and family.

      However, we also understand that our hotel is not appropriate for all types of customers and that some expectations might not be met.

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 September 2012

      It is hard to define this place as a hotel. Never seen a hotel with parking lot only for 5 cars. The tented outdoor sitting place is worned out and during rainy season it leaks everywhere. You are left with three sitting place at the entrance where you risk not receiving any services. The waiters can not see you sitting outside until you run inside and shout out for a service. When you enter the hotel you see two sitting areas, a reception, restaurant, bar, all in one place which makes the place too dark and over crowded.

      Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
      3  Thank Borana N
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Dimitri H, Manager at Dimitri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

      Dear Guest,

      thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our property.

      Parking space inside the compound is limited and reserved for room guests. The street just outside the compound provides plenty of unmetered parking space though.

      The gazebo is actually off limits to guests, as it is being renovated. We shall put up a sign to this effect, to avoid any confusion.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 August 2012

      We spent a night at Dimitri Hotel for a transit from Dar-Es-Salaam to Rome. It was a great experience.
      The hotel is clean and the room comfortable, but the greatest thanks goes to the staff.
      Extremely friendly and helpful. We had dinner at their restaurant, too...very good!Highly recommended!

      • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank emille_naty
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews