We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice Hotel with a shuttel service to the airport but this standard in Addis.
Internet working, Rooms like you expect from a Hotel like that. The pool on the Roof with the bar is really nice for a cold coke.
But the breakfast has to improve only the strawberry jus is really the hit. The Hotel has a big problem with its elivators becwuse from 3 was only working one. If you dont want to eat in the hotel where the food is ok you haveto take a taxi because their are no restaurants around. The hotel is based in the city but their is nothing around it only the three othr big hotels which are around the corner but more expansive. For business good for holiday a little bit unpersonal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night while in transit in Addis. Large room with a nice view on the mountains and very professionnal staff; but the rooms would need refreshment, specially the bathroom; probably original from the 1970's. The ethiopiam meal that we had at the hotel restaurant was very good and tasty and the staff initiated us how to eat it. Thanks !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Second time I've stayed at this hotel,last visit was two years ago.Hotel standards have not changed in this time,everything is of a good standard.Free shuttle to and from airport,kiosk is easy to find in arrivals,did'nt ha ve to wait long before journey to hotel,takes10/15 min,s only.Nice double room,great bed,spotlessly clean,balcony,good bathroom facilities,chairs/table,desk and good size safe-box.Swimming pool on roof along with gym,s.Shops and bank/exchange on mezzanine.Atrium style building with nice open plan lounge/bars.Good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.Tea/coffee making within room,roomService available.Staff all friendly and helpful,check in/out very good.Highly recommend this hotel,it does'nt disappoint .Good A/c too.

Room Tip: Had Room No319, no problems a t all!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I've known Ethiopia since 2009. Each time it has been a true delight to settle down at Intercon in a massive bed and hot shower after days of scout's life. Each time my heart bumps, shrivels, pangs, wonders : has anyone from the staff left ? Is Medhane still there ? And Isaac ? Addis is Africa's great switchboard : whenever you're off to, Dar-es-Salaam, Zanzibar, Nairobi, Kampala or just further within Ethiopia, you will stop over in AA, a nondescript shanty chaos - with major works now going on to build an eastward bound railway -, fortunately with an island and a family at hand : Intercon. Much less sedate than Hilton, with a variety of travelers from an 87yr old adventurous Italian lady to Indian engineers. Bright stylish atrium, perfect swimming-pool on the 10th floor and on top of it a dream staff, starting from the cook at breakfast time, with whom you may test your first Amharic, to the cluster of reception bees. Electrical shiver whenever at 6 p.m. the atrium fills up and buzzes with Ethiopian jazz and evening plans. MIN BIZOR AMORA KAL ED-DELU AIBELA : No matter how many times the bird circles over its prey, without luck it won't eat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank corinne292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great hotel with good food and service. Very friendly staff and always willing to help. Location was interesting as its in the middle of town. Its a great hotel in the middle of all the shanty buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Right after the flight, found the hotel desk right away, but we had to wait over 30 minutes while the driver waited for another passenger before taking us to the hotel, we were very happy that the to/from airport transportation was included, but the hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, it was late, and we had to wait a long time at the airport before we left for the hotel.

The hotel itself was impressive from the outside. The front desk attendant was not the nicest, but I guess it was pretty late. We were checked in quickly. It was about 11:00pm, and we wanted a small snack after long day of flying. There were still people in the lobby, and we went down. The very nice waitress showed us a menu, and we ordered chicken wings and French fries. These were the worst tasting wings and fries I have ever tasted, not exaggerating. But the Ethiopian beer was light and tasty.

The room itself was fine, neither fabulous nor bad, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean. The lobby was probably grand at the beginning, but now the furniture looked very worn. Though the overall look was nice. Breakfast was just OK, nice selection of baked goods and made to order eggs. The hot selection was just OK.

Guess from other reviews, I expected more. But, this was very first trip to Adis Ababa, and I cannot compare to other hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank JolantaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel has a free shuttle service from the airport (it has a kiosk at Arrivals). The staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are clean and the food is both acceptable and reasonably priced. The building is pleasant with a large atrium and every room has a balcony. There is free wifi. Check-in and check-out are efficient. There are ATMs in the lobby that accept credit cards.

But.... Not all staff speak English well and tend to misunderstand then do what they think you said. The wifi doesn't reach all (any?) bedrooms so you have to sit in the lobby for connectivity (the ethernet cable in the room didn't work either). Bathrooms are tired and some of the plumbing is faulty. The TVs (all of them throughout the hotel) had a "email, press menu then 4" in the top corner obscuring a patch of picture and the staff didn't know why. If you sit at the wine bar and order food it will be priced as if you ate in the restaurant rather than the lobby with no warning. When I confirmed my shuttle back to the airport I found that it hadn't originally been booked even though I was told by email it would be.

I attended a conference at the Hilton. This seemed to provide more luxury, though its wifi was chargeable and I didn't see any bedrooms.

So it's a good hotel at a reasonable price, with the usual sub-Saharan African service foibles but its usual friendly staff. You could do worse.

Room Tip: A corner suite gives more space for little more money and is also quieter, but you probably won'...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#25 of 121 in Addis Ababa
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 121 in Addis Ababa
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 121 in Addis Ababa
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 121 in Addis Ababa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £78 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing