We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

rooms are good, lavatories needs maintenance, no hot water in bathrooms,
piano voice at the lobby is too loud to the extent that it might disturb your sleep,breakfast varaities are enough,
yet still one of the best hotels in addis

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the room and the more quite it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minayounan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    96
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
5
16
16
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Addis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

In a 10 day stay internet was down 4 days(stock answer: Ethio Telecom are working on it), 2 ATMs were out of service for 3 days, all 3 news channels not working for 4 days, food awful with the wrong order delivered 1/3rd of the time with v.little effort to fix the many shortfalls. Will definitely NOT stay here again.

The one highlight is the gym/steamroom/sauna. Unlimited wifi would have been a plus if it was working-the IT Manager could at least be more dynamic in chasing up faults/communicative with diagnosis of faults, sadly not

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvorMotif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was privileged to be hosted by the Hotel Intercontinentaladdis for for the whole of the last working week and I must say I was happy. Having had a relatively good stay last time at a different hotel, I was lucky to have been booked by our country office at this hotel. I arrived at about 11 and even though the rooms were not ready (check out in Addis is at 12 noon!), the lounge was spacious and with comfortable seating. I was pleasantly surprised at the room as well. Spacious and clean and I must say that they have the best shampoo I have used in a hotel in quite a long time.

I was also happy at the way the room is organised with no need to put a do not disturb sign as the stewards can tell when you are in the room by an electronic sign at the door. I enjoyed the variety of food at breakfast and also tried their a la carte dinner which was great.

The only struggle was phone connectivity and internet (which may be an Ethiopian problem). The signal was weak in my room for phone and wifi and with access being quite intermittent.

I enjoyed the gym which was spacious and well equipped (plus with a resident trainer) though I didn't try the sauna. I would recommend though that they indicate that these facilities are free as there was no notice on the room brochures of the gym or sauna, if it was there it was not easily found.

Overally I enjoyed and would return to this hotel if I were in Addis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkogolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff in the hotel were excellent - super friendly and the hotel is an international standard, very nice roof bar. However, my shower was always cold and no pressure. My wifi didn't work and IT never came up to fix it. Not impressed. I feel like it was very overpriced for what I got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexaduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Being here for 3 nights on business travel. Rooms are comfortable and the staff is kind. Food: both breakfast and dinner were good, spa and swimming pool just ok. In the nearby there is the UN conference centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siusega, null, Samoa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Here's the good stuff: central location, friendly, attentive staff, accommodating reception staff who let us stay right until our 10pm flights, lots of good formal and informal meeting places, good gym, great leather bag gift shop at reasonable prices (I bought two), excellent breakfast buffet. Bad stuff: Rooms need updating - my one had a fridge that ran so loud it woke me every night, terrible hot chocolates that are more like hot milk, they actually have a great massage service but it is tucked away and I don't think they exploit it enough, unfortunately the pool was being cleaned so didn't get to try it, aside from brekky the restaurant food was mediocre so I would encourage you to eat out for dinners - and if you do eat in, I wouldn't order dessert because ours seemed to be, well, old.

Room Tip: Not 612 unless they replace the very loud fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faumuina Feloli... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms were well kitted out with working safe, fridge, iron and ironing board and good TV reception. Staff and service were excellent too. Airport shuttle is on time and leaves every hour (and is free). The only two things I'd say could be improved are: quality of the food at the restaurant (it's not bad but it doesn't live up to a 5 star hotel) and the wifi in the rooms is weak and often cuts out so you have to go down to the lobby area where it works well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
2.0 mi away
Momona Hotel
Momona Hotel
#36 of 118 in Addis Ababa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Property: Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing