We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for Work”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recently spent four nights here while attending some meetings in Addis - perfectly located for where I needed to get to, though quite noisy at night. Nice big room with plenty of hot running water, television in the room, but no wifi. Staff were helpful, food was OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    49
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
15
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Got a flight delay for 8 hrs to Beijing. Flying business the airlines put us up in the downtown Hilton . I was not impressed with the room. The rooms for 6 people were stripped down. No bottle water, no tooth brushes, no shampoo or amenities. We did get breakfast coupons, but no slippers no coffee maker or robes. I have stayed at better 3star hotels that supply all of the above amenities .
I complained at the front desk before we were picked up about the stripped down rooms . We didn't get checked in until 1:30AM. We were probably just concerned with bed time because we had to leave at 6:00AM for our shuttle to the airport. The buffet we got with are room did't open till
6:00AM so the breakfast wasn't really available because we had to leave at the time they opened.
I will say the (Buffet) dinner the night before was pretty good. So I would have to give credit for that. I asked everybody there if they had amenities in their rooms, the next morning before we left
and all replied in the negative. Apparently they set a group of rooms aside for such occasions. And probably charge the airlines for 5 star accommodations. Which fell short of 3. I wouldn't stay there primarily for their cheapness if the opportunity were to arise again. I would request another
Hotel. Due to the fact our luggage was kept on the plane it would have been nice to have your toiletries because the hotel Hilton was too cheap to supply them. There wasn't any information in the room or on the telephone to call. And the matter was really in poor taste . The way it wad handled.I used to stay at the Hilton Hotels, but stopped because of their marketing practices"

Room Tip: I would stay at the Sheraton or Intercontinental or Raddisson Blu before the Hilton. The intercontin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was put up in this hotel by an airline as I had missed a connecting flight. I would never willingly pay for this atrocity of a hotel. Staff are rude and unfriendly, rooms are cold, untidy with smelly bathrooms.Beds in rooms are very hard and uncomfortable. You do not ever want to stay in this hotel. Avoid it at all costs

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKINA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have had a four day stay at the Panorama hotel and have found the hotel very comfortable, clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We will recommend this hotel to friends and family for future stays in Addis. The restaurant has nice food especially the local dishes and cheese burgers :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The staff here were very helpful- only thing I would suggest is that you make sure the internet is working when you arrive. I had issues with the internet during my stay. The manager however was very helpful with any requests that I had and overall had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very good hotel with a god restaurant and buffet with traditional food. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was very good.
I enjoyed a lot the ethiopian hospitality and kindness.
Dr Luthi from Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Two more stopovers in Addis and I opted for the Panorama. I was remembered by the staff which is always good.
Let me check in early after an overnight from London, Deluxe room slept well though bed in 603 was too soft.
next stay in 503 firmer bed - Lots of noise from dogs in the night -not the hotel's fault though.
Very imaginative breakfasts and great catering manager.
This hotel is used by Ethiopian airways as a lay over so you can hit rush hour at reception, but the staff are always obliging and friendly.
Will stay again - but always deluxe.

Room Tip: ask for firm bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timtysonshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.3 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#59 of 118 in Addis Ababa
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abyssinia Renaissance Hotel
Abyssinia Renaissance Hotel
#32 of 118 in Addis Ababa
8 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 118 in Addis Ababa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Momona Hotel
Momona Hotel
#40 of 118 in Addis Ababa
18 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
2.3 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#20 of 118 in Addis Ababa
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Bole subcity, Haile G / Selassie Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing