We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2000 worth of experiences”

2000 Habesha Cultural Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 265 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2000 worth of experiences”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Warning, the food is not so great and i advise that you keep it simple and avoid the oily stuff.

The performances are absolutely amazing, the dances are fantastic and rigourous, the Ethiopians are such wonderful people but the food i have reseravtions for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    160
    45
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brief visit but worthwhile”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went with a team of international colleagues representing at least 6 countries and fun was had by all. One great asset is the fact that it is located relatively near to the main airport. There was the spectacular and energetic regional dancing from the resident troupe and also Ethiopian music from the supporting band. Music was not too loud to drown conversation. The local food served buffet style suited all tastes. There is also a bar. The place has a very international yet Ethiopian flavour. Service was very good and prompt for those of us clock gazing so we do not miss flights.
Certainly a popular haunt and I would go again especially since our party did not book in advance and we still got great hospitality and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very fun!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I went here with a couple of my Ethiopian friends and we had a great time. First of all, tej (honey wine) makes everything just a little more fun. It was amusing that ours came in a Jack Daniel's bottle that night. Nice reusing of resources.

The atmosphere here is laid back despite the expansive space, and you are guaranteed to have fun. The food was pretty good. I really enjoying the beyenet here. We had a nice mix of miser, shiro, veggies, and something that I think was doro wat.

The dancing was incredibly high energy and I loved the interactive aspect of it. Clearly, they know that foreigners find their dancing intriguing (lots of cool shoulder motions), and they go around the room encouraging people to dance with them. There were parts where I felt like the rhythm was a bit off, but it really didn't matter.

As a visitor, I really think you should visit this place (or any other "traditional" restaurant) at least once. You will have a great time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Veeery nice Ethiopian traditional food and ridiculously "average" prices. Good VALUE. Highly recommended. The entertainment makes it even more worth the while.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank webish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice food.
Good traditional music and dance.
Lots of space to move around. be ready to eat anjera...not much else on the menu

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shihela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2000 Habesha Cultural Restaurant also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to 2000 Habesha Cultural Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing