We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeless” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Restaurant & Pub - CLOSED

Cottage Restaurant & Pub
Cuisines: American, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It's in the most recent Lonely Planet guide, page 100.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Timeless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had been here before on a previous visit to my second home Addis Ababa. I love this place hidden away on Menelik Ave close to the Ghion hotel. From the moment you walk in the service is typically Ethiopian attentive and helpful. The menu had good selection of dishes for most tastes and is well cooked and presented, so if your looking for a break from Ethiopian traditional food pay it a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Swiss Chalet?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

While wondering around Addis on foot, we started at Tomoca (top of Churchill street) and walked down to the Gare, then Meskle Square and then stopped in for a bite to eat. We didn't have the fondue but the lamb was good. Again this was a nice change from the 'regular' restaurants I tend to go to. The service was also good which is nice in Addis. I didn't feel pub-sy as they said in the Lonely Planet but more in a Swiss Chalet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Africache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
352 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Surprise - good food and a nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Discovered this place by accident since it is somewhat tucked away. Positively surprised by the food and excellent service, prices reasonable. In the back of the restaurant there's a funny bar, Irish Pub kinda style. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Timeless and classic or outdated?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

To my surprise I actually enjoyed my meal here. It's a bit expensive for 60's style cuisine. The most important part of this place is that a pub and cottage does not do it justice for white table cloth candle lit dinners. This place is no pub and a bit too fancy for to be called a cottage.

I had the pepper steak which was pounded flat and full of tender peppery goodness. Half my sides were not heated all the way through which makes me imagine week old food being pulled out of the fridge and haphazardly reheated. The meal was enjoyable but less than amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chasington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Irish Coffee and More...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Was the most popular spot on the Addis pub-restaurant scene when I was here in the mid-1980s for 18 months. Old world London pub in the rear. Good moderately-priced international cuisine. Best Irish coffee and tiramisu in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing