We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perectly acceptable standard”
Review of Wassamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wassamar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Perectly acceptable standard”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed for a week on a business trip. The hotel is a quite reasonable standard. Rooms are very clean and big enough. Wired and wireless internet are available and works as erratically as anywhere else in Ethiopia (not the hotels fault). The TV had multiple channels of sport, film and news including BBC.

The design of the hotel has several floors of rooms around a central atrium. The reception is on the second floor. If you enjoy a drink and are quite tall, the railings are a little low on the upper floors - so take care! There are two lifts which work well. The hotel also has backup power to cover the inevitable power failures.

When I checked in, I heard someone ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, so I did the same. I do not know if the front facing rooms are noisy.

I ate most nights in the restaurant. The food is perfectly OK and not expensive. Also, breakfast is acceptable. There is a buffet of cooked food, some fruit and a few cakes. They will make an omelette - the chef is there waiting for the orders.

The hotel is easy to find on the Bole road. It is only a few minutes from the airport, if the traffic is moving. There is a small super market next door and a bank with ATM.

Room Tip: Try the back if you like quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
6
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tias, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Response time from staff prior to booking was excellent, to a standard to which most Spanish hotels (where I live) can only aspire. Rooms are perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The restaurant is open 24 hours a day and, unlike the airport hotels near Barajas (Madrid), they serve breakfast at a sensible time (6am) so you can actually have breakfast before departing for your flight.

I had a superbly cooked Nile perch dish (the most expensive fish dish on their menu) and paid less than €7 including a soft drink - unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is ideally located, very close to the airport. The hotel shuttle and reception are very professional and efficient.

The hotel itself is a small budget business hotel. Rooms are small but have all the required amenities one would expect of this kind of hotel. Its clean but not very attractive. The WIFI works relatively well in the rooms.

Showers have a build in boiler and water is either extremely hot or cold. One has to carefully measure the right position of the tap to have a good shower.

The hotel breakfast is very poor. Selection is basic and not very appetizing. I did not have lunch in the hotel but the room service was adequate and prompt.

Staff is the absolute plus in this hotel. Very friendly, courteous and professional.

Room Tip: Make sure to request the airport shuttle in advance to avoid double booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 17 - 18 March 2013 while working with officials from the Ministry of Health in Ethiopia. Overall, the hotel was good with easy access to the international airport. The check-in and check out process was fairly efficient and the food was generally OK - we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and lunch away from the hotel. The service is fairly quick at the hotel restaurant and also when you request the hotel staff to fetch a taxi for you. They have a nice lobby with comfortable seats - we actually held some of our meetings with the Ministry officers at the lobby.

The rooms are also of decent size.

The downside though is that the room seemed aged with old beddings and the bathroom was crammed with a damp smell. The toilet also did not function properly and the overall experience of using the loo and shower was quite unpleasant.

The general area where the hotel is located is right next to the busy Bole Road and the noise levels are fairly high when in the room and lobby. The exterior of the hotel is also not well paved or maintained and might be a turn-off for guests.

Considering the purpose of my travels to Addis whereby I only get to the room after long days of meetings and also convenience of getting to Bole Airport, I will be back to Wassamar Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor to drown out some of the noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at the Wassamar repeatedly, and am happy with most aspects of their service. The rooms are pleasant, the food is pretty good and the staff are great for the most part. Things don't always work, such as internet that is sometimes very slow and the machines for paying bills by card, but the human qualities and overall pleasantness of the place counterbalance this.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

With constructions in Bole Road partially completing the upper section, Wassamar is still conveniently located at 5 min drive from Bole Int'l Airport, a mall and lots of restaurants offering a variety of international cuisines along Bole Road.
The Hotel offers free Airport Shuttle service, and drivers are courteous and well communicable well in English. Same applies to staff from reception/ restaurant.

Rooms are slightly small but cozy, bathrooms fairly clean (again, for Ethiopian hotels - problem with maintenance), it needs proper cleaning, since its a building that was constructed about 3-4 years ago. Bathrooms are too small with very little movement space, given it is a stair higher from the door. Has a weird shape though.

Breakfast was OK! but they should improve. I found the restaurant food mediocre. My two meals (late lunch and dinner) were not the best. Nothing extraordinary.

The gym facility was the best experience I had at Wassamar. It is quite spacious for a hotel. Has enough equipments, including a weights area, with enough dumbbells and a functional multi-utility machine, about 4 treadmills and four other equipments. Has a steam bath facility in the men's area. Towels and fresh water available.

The business centre is also at hand.I could print 4 pages without any extra charges.

I would generally recommend this hotel if you are on a business trip to Addis and need to stay closer to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajanteAfricano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Whilst service may not have been of Western standards per se, I noticed that many of the staff were extremely friendly and I enjoyed my dinner in the restaurant and beers in the lounge. The room was on the small side but well-appointed and pretty clean. A bit low on excitement, but I quite enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nega Bonger Hotel
Nega Bonger Hotel
#28 of 118 in Addis Ababa
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Addis, Addis Ababa
Ramada Addis, Addis Ababa
#52 of 118 in Addis Ababa
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cyan City Hotel
Cyan City Hotel
#41 of 118 in Addis Ababa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azzeman Hotel
Azzeman Hotel
#24 of 118 in Addis Ababa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamar Hotel

Property: Wassamar Hotel
Address: Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wassamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wassamar welcomes you at the gate of Addis Ababa, 1.2 km from the airport with its attractive amenities and excellent service. Wassamar offers on-site indoor/outdoor restaurant with complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet, gym, sauna and steam room. For those interested in business, we offer small and large conference spaces with a capacity of 10 and 100 individuals. Both wired for internet access and sound systems and projectors. Come and see us, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wassamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing