We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic price, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fantastic price, great service”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel. I had been a number of times already in Addis, usually staying at the Sheraton but this time I was so shocked by the price they were asking, that I look for something else and thanks to Trip Advisor found this hotel.

If it certainly doesn't have the luxury of the Sheraton, the service here is much nicer, everybody being adorable. A special mention to the gentleman who owns the hotel, Mr Mack, who permanently is looking for ways to help or to assist.

Internet is certainly one of the best I've seen in Africa and it's free. I have had much better food in the hotel's restaurant that in town and in addition is really cheap.

Rooms are comfortable even if a little fresh paint would be a good idea but nothing shocking. Also TV sets are a bit oldish but they are to be changed in the next few months.

Do stay there at the current price is it's a real treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    137
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
108
58
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solna, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Addis Regency is a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The service is excellent. The wifi works very well except when the whole area has problems which unfortunately occurs every now and then. The restaurant is fair, the food not very good but fresh. The breakfasts are fine. I even used the very rough gym a couple of times, it is ok. The hotel is a little bit off the main areas but charming piazza a short walk away. The transfer to and from the airport works very well. I can really recommend a stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia13190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights on three occasions as we crossed the country on our travels. It has the most inauspicious entry off a small lane - "oh no! where are we going" was the first reaction. But then I realised the benefit was the peace this brings - in fact I liked the location not too far from Piazza and just around the corner from the fabulous Addis Ababa restaurant. The staff are great - very helpful and friendly and generous. The restaurant was great for breakfast and for dinner. the rooms were clean and comfortable. Coming back for our 3rd stay was like coming home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here with my two children and my husband. The staff coukd not have been more accommodating and helpful! I have read other reviews complaining of the location but I didn't find it at all inconvenient. There is always a taxi to take u where u want to go..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rspittelramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Addis Regency Hotel is situated a short drive from Siddist Kilo, the High Palace of Emperor Haile Selassie (now Addis Ababa University) and the the successors of the imperial lions. It overlooks the historic Addis Ababa restaurant in an area where there are many scattered buildings dating to the reign of Emperor Menelik and is close the St George's Cathedral and the historic city core. The internal plan of the hotel is constrained by a concrete frame with closely set pillars set along the length of the building, so the layout is uninspired, but the rooms are large, if a little chilly in cold weather. There is a restaurant serving international and Ethiopian food and a bar where one can drink tej (mead) served in a traditional barille. Everything is compensated, however, by the hotel's policy of providing first-class service, which includes an unfailingly helpful staff who remember one's name, free airport transfers, and it is for this reason that it was justifiably judged to be the best hotel in Addis Ababa in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Five minutes walk from the Piazza. Fantastic, caring staff, clean rooms, great food. The owner and his staff are unbelievably friendly and accommodating. I've been to Addis 7 times now and the Regency is easily the best value for money. It sounds too good to be true, but seriously this is a great place to stay. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blythe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A delightful treat after two weeks of extensive travel throughout northern Ethiopia. Staff are the best and at your service constantly. Rooms great, hot showers, good food and drink, and a wonderful Meskal celebration fire right outside on 9/28. Don't miss this hotel when you visit Addis. Super!

Room Tip: Always best to check the room first to make sure you like the location but these rooms were among th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
265 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
395 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
746 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 118 in Addis Ababa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Property: Addis Regency Hotel
Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing