We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A QUALITY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were delighted that The Regency was our final stop in Ethiopia since it was a fine
hotel that offered a badly needed reprieve from several other accommodations in the country.
The owner was charming and helpful and and this was also the case of his entire staff from the bartenders to the cleaning crew. The rooms were attractive, spotless and had the epitome
of luxury - SCREENS! A+

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrnarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here for ten nights and couldn't have had better service throughout.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the wifi access is really great and so is the food. I also hired their conference room for a four-day training workshop, it's on the top floor with lots of light and lovely views. Again the support and service throughout the workshop was excellent.

It's not the most central of location but there was never a problem gettting taxis. The area is residential and backs on to a school. I enjoyed being in a low-key neighbourhood but don't expect a wide array of amenities on your doorstep, it's pretty basic. Behind the hotel is a really great traditional restaurant with excellent food.

You can change your dollars at reception. And there's a free shuttle service to/from the airport.

I was made to feel really welcome by every single staff member and I would definitely go back again.

Sarah

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oughton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Would definitely recommend staying at this new and fairly intimate hotel. The staff were helpful and there was a very good breakfast with lots to choose from. Our room was clean and comfortable and came with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, although the TV quality wasn't great. The hotel is in a pretty good location and offered a free pick-up/drop-off service to the airport. Great value for money when compared against other hotels of a similar price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Clean, friendly, affordable, and super staff. What else could you want?

The Addis Regency deserves its top ranking from Tripadvisor. It feels like home and you are a beloved family member.

The rooms are clean and sanitary. The housekeeper even washes and shines the bathroom mirror every day.

The restaurant serves tasty food at a reasonable price.

The Addis Regency is not near any of the sights. You can walk to the National Museum but it is a ways. They have designated taxi drivers who are honest and knowledgable.

The airport shuttle and breakfast are welcome bonuses. A large safe is in every room.

Stay here. You'll be pleased.

Room Tip: The corner, connected family rooms offer more amenities and cost less than 2 standard rooms. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0nlan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Addis Regency for a week. We were reluctant to leave this friendly, caring hotel.
The staff is excellent in every way. They make you feel like a good friend.

The hotel is one of the cleanest you'll find. Even the bathroom mirror is scrubbed and polished every day.

The restaurant has good food on offer at fairly reasonable prices. The service is excellent.

The airport shuttle and free breakfast are bonuses.

The Addis Regency is not in a convenient neighborhood but they have designated taxi drivers who are honest and prompt.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The connected family rooms offer more amenities. They are a good deal for travelers who in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donlan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Enjoyed several nights at this hotel. The staff and owner were exceedingly helpful and courteous. Outstanding breakfast each morning. Encountered no problems in the local area of the hotel. Any needs we had such as taxis were handled with a smile. Some niggles with water leaks in the bathroom - one caused by occupant of room above allowing their bath/washbasin to overflow. Staff did all they could to deal even though it happened during the night. Other was remedied straight away. For a hotel within reach of the 'center' of Addis Ababa we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We opted out of the Ethiopian Airlines deal to pay for a hotel on our overnight layover in Addis. Instead I booked the Addis Regency for my family of 5. It was worth the little extra we spent on our vacation to have the ease, comfort and space this hotel offered. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Credit card machine was not working at checkout so we paid cash, be sure to be prepared with both, just in case. We were in the Family Suite (2 connected rooms) on the 2nd floor. The rooms were spacious with 2 twin beds + a 3rd twin set up in the kids' room, and a king size in the other room. Two good sized, clean bathrooms with wonderful hot showers. We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights. Good options for kids including pasta and chicken. Breakfast also had plenty of options. Airport pickup was great and we were quickly off to the hotel while the large group of travelers opting for the Ethiopian Airlines voucher hotel stood in a big group waiting for a bus. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank JessTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
2.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 122 in Addis Ababa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £44 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, piazza, national museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing