We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everything was clean. Staff were excellent. The room was spacious. Cleaning staff were regular. Everything worked correctly. The nights were quiet allowing me enough sleep. The breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious with an eclectic choices of food on offer. The security was top-notch. Staff were very attentive to all my needs. The general manager, Mekonnen K/Mariam, was very kind to me as, when I arrived, I was very sick with the flu. A few days after staying at the Addis Regency Hotel I was up and running again. I won't soon forget this hotel and its excellence in terms of customer service and the amenities on offer. I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Second floor is really good, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had stayed once before at the Addis Regency a couple of years ago. Hotel still is an outstanding establishment. They have added lifts that made the visit this time more pleasant. Management and staff are stll very motivated and friendly.Clean inside out. Great Place !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at the Addis Regency for about a week and half while in Ethiopia for a school project. This became my home away from home, and I would describe the hotel as "simple elegance." It was comfortable, the staff was attentive, and the bar was always open. You won't find the frills of a larger hotel like the Sheraton, but that's actually what I liked about the place. Cabs aren't as familiar with this hotel and as there are no street numbers in Addis you might encounter some trouble trying to explain to people where it is. I wound up relying on a few known taxi drivers who were familiar with the hotel. The only thing keeping me from giving this hotel a 5 is the fact that there was no ATM on-site. There is an ATM close by, but I would have loved one on-site. All in all, it's a great place. I honestly wish there were an Addis Regency in every city!

Room Tip: There's a small gym on the 5th floor. Small but it gets the job done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I like this hotel but more than that I love the people who work there. They are friendly and try to help always. I had a tummy bug towards the end of my stay and the staff mollycoddled me and got me back to health with a local remedy, very caring! The room was comfortable and very clean, the bed was as though it had been ironed every morning and the bathroom spotless. The restaurant could do with some more variety in the menu - I made a few suggestions to the owner. There were some renovation works ongoing when I was there but this did not disturb me too much. Overall this is a place I would recommend to anyone spending some time in Addis. It was a perfect base for exploring the city and the hotel helped to arrange transport around the tourist sights. I was also collected from the airport which is only around 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and got one on the first floor towards the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Addis Regency on 2 separate occasions during the same trip for a total of 3 nights. After spending 2.5 weeks in Ethiopia, Addis Regency is easily the best hotel we’ve stayed at in the country.

The front desk was helpful, courteous and very receptive to our requests – whether it was to schedule a shuttle to the airport, inquiries about local sights or walking directions.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is also the best we’ve had during our stay in Ethiopia. We also tried a lunch and dinner at the hotel’s restaurant and was very pleased with the quality of the food.

The only potential downfall of the hotel is that it’s a good 15-20 minutes from the airport. During our return to Addis a day prior to our flight out of the country, we considered staying at a hotel closer to the airport. Given some not-so-great experiences at hotels elsewhere, we decided not to risk it and stuck with Addis Regency. We don’t regret that decision.

Should we return to Addis in the future, we would not hesitate to stay at the Addis Regency Hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hipmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Addis Regency at the beginning and end of our 2.5 weeks around Ethiopia. It was definitely the best hotel we stayed at among all the ones around the country. Addis Regency has the best breakfast, the most reliable airport transfers and the most efficient and friendly service.

After touring around Ethiopia and experiencing some subpar levels of service at various hotels, we were looking forward to returning to Addis Regency.

The only con with the hotel would be the location. It is a little far out from main parts of town and there aren't as many restaurants within easy walking distance. However the comfort and level of service provided by the hotel outweigh the minor inconvenience.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reliable, consistent and comfortable hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank babycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great service and really great food. It is lovely place to stay for business or pleasure. I have stayed here twice and both times I was very pleased with my stay. Good walk to piazza area. I would highly recommend Addis Regency

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
2.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
778 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 122 in Addis Ababa
139 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 122 in Addis Ababa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £44 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, piazza, national museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing