We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Addis Ababa”
Review of Wanza Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanza Hotel
Ranked #103 of 292 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you're looking for a basic but clean and not too expensive place to stay in Addis Ababa then choose Wanza Hotel! VERY friendly service, 24 hour guarded. Restaurant seemed not to work in April 2013, although they serve drinks. The hotel is located near Bole road (heavy road works in April 2013 but you can't hear them) and about 10 minute walk from Meskel Square. Taxi to the Bole International Airport takes only 10-15 minutes. Note that the hotel will most likely be closed in the end of 2013 and another hotel will replace Wanza. Sadly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amsterdamned74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 2 March 2013

every time we returned to addis we stayed in this place. Helpfull manager, clean rooms, great location, good atmosphere (people from al over working for the african union like to stay here as well) en the restaurant serves good food.

we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

After living a week in a condominium outside of the city, we decided to move in the center, in a cheap hostel, in the Wanza Hotel.
The hotel has a great location, situated at proximity of the Masqual square, the biggest square of Addis. The Room are cheap for the location, plus the neighborhood isn't bad, between Olympia and Peacock (for those who know). The hotel has a small court in the middle and every room are situated around it. Room are small, but have everything you need (private shower and toilets, a bed, a desk and a wardrobe). You never are alone in your room, because of the small bugs. Smaller then cockroaches, non aggressive, non dangerous, just a bit disgusting, but you get used to it.
A restaurant serves as front desk, very cosy and the food is relatively good. The waitress and the owner are very welcoming and are going to do what they can to help you.
So my tip is not to go there if you are very scared by bugs, but other than that i had a great time and enjoyed staying at the Wanza Hotel.
Hope you will too!

Room Tip: When you arrive they show you the room, so you can choose your room once you're there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Atso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 124 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
449 reviews
0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#13 of 124 in Addis Ababa
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanza Hotel

Address: Dem. Rep. Congo Street | Urael, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing