We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Churchill Hotel
Ranked #93 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for several weeks. Very centrally located near Black lion Hospital and Ministry of Health for medical volunteers. Staff is very friendly and tries hard to please. Has a good gym with exercise equipment and a trainer on staff at all times. Also a spa with great massages. Breakfast is buffet with lots of choices but basically the same. Very good security. Internet and wifi works most of the time. Rooms come in a variety of sizes and some are very large. TV has 3 movie channels. My stay has been very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
5
13
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Churchill by default, after our flight to Guangzhou was cancelled by Ethiopian Air. After a long wait and rather uncomfortable shuttle ride we got there. I found the food unpalatable, there was no hot water and fleas in the bed. After an uncomfortable stay, I was more than ready to leave.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank MsTM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

An average hotel with average service. The reception staff and the bellboy were most welcoming and accomodating. Rooms were huge and clean but did not have aircon so had to leave windows open and therefore assaulted by passing traffic noises. Food was below average.

Room Tip: Sorry, couldnt say. Understand my companions had the same complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

It was not our choice, Ethiopian Airlines sent us in Churchill hotel for 2 nights because of schedule change. Room was spacious and that's it. No matter how I try I just can't find anything else nice to say about this hotel.
Breakfast was incredibly poor, restaurant staff seemed to be on strike all the time. Although EA provided full board we opted for a la carte menu (and paid for it ourselves) because it seemed the only way to make restaurant staff react. Some dishes were quite tasteful, compliments for the chef, but waiters should be informed that they are meant to serve guests and not to walk around disinterested or enjoying a chat between themselves.

Room Tip: We were on the 4rd floor and had a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nen608707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at Churchill Hotel in December during a stop over in Addis Abeba. I did not have a choice because it was the hotel assigned by Ethipian Airlines, but if you do, don't stay there. The girl at the reception retained our passaport until the next morning without any resonable justification for that. We arrived at night, after a 14 hours flight and the shower did not have hot water and the weather at the time was very cold. There was only one towel available at a double room. The bathroom had a big window and no curtains and it faced another building, so we had a sensation of very little privacy.The dinner offered did not have many options, only rice, pasta with vegetables, very oily fried fish and curry. The breakfast the next day was even worst, the bread seemed to be from more than 3 days old.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robrazil_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a vacation road trip. The Chuchill would like to compete with more upscale hotels in Addis but it's not ready for prime time yet. Showing its age a little. Friendly, helpful staff but had a hard time communicating. Either they didn't understand me or they simply didn't know the answers. No A/C in my room, which was large and comfortable, but average. OK in winter months but would be a problem in the summer. Reasonable value for what you get but keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to extend a recent stay in Addis. Because of all popular hotels fully booked due to conferences, I could not remain at my first choice and had to settle for the only hotel with a room available, the Churchill. I regard myself as a very adaptable person and will attempt to make the most of circumstances, but in this case my approach was severely challenged. Still, I want to provide a balanced view and tongue in cheek, regard this as a survival guide.

The room had the basics and appeared clean, although carpets and walls has obvious dark stains throughout the building. TV, although old, worked fine. i could not find a wireless signal in the room, but it was available in the foyer and dining room. Sleeping proved to be difficult, as noises from the street, the lift and neighbouring rooms penetrated into mine with remarkeable clarity. If you happen to find yourself in this establishment in the future, request bottled water at the bar counter in the dining room before retiring for the night. The shower had a device on the wall for directing water either to nozzles aimed at your eyes or a showerhead. The latter is the safer option, provided you are prepared to play with a knob fitted to the device. Eventually I got it right, at the expense of flooding the bathroom floor.

The staff are friendly but not service orientated. This was not a dealbreaker for me at all. The food was my biggest challenge, with a very limited selection at breakfast and dinner. On top of that, my Western preferences limited my choices to the extent that I had muffins as my main course, for breakfast and dinner. Not that they were that great, it was what I eventually reverted to after the first evening's chicken curry proved to be disappointing on various levels.

A positive is a gym just outside the main building, featuring some modern fitness equipment. A final word of caution, the pictures on their hotel listing, had either a very creative photographer or clever use of photoshop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#22 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#81 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Semien Hotel
Semien Hotel
#73 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#85 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel

Property: Churchill Hotel
Address: Churchill Avenue, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing