We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relief from the the other sub-standard hotels in Ethiopia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A relief from the the other sub-standard hotels in Ethiopia”
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed one night at the beginning and two nights at the end of our Ethiopia tour. This is a good hotel by any standard - everything you would expect of a Sheraton. Spacious well-equipped rooms, decent restaurants, great pool (the only pool in Ethiopia we saw with water in it!). For Ethiopia it is expensive, including food and drink - by European standards food and drink is cheap - but stay away from the minibar! Ethiopia is a desperately poor country, some of the roads are appalling (we rebelled at one point and insisted on flying Lalibela to Axum rather than driving) so this is an escape from the stresses - but it isn't the real Ethiopia!

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    231
    70
    24
    17
See reviews for
60
102
62
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

After some hassles with my reservation, I settled in for 2 wks at the Sheraton during a business trip.

Not really much to add to earlier reviews. I do wish the hotel were more conservation-conscious given the water scarcity in Ethiopia.

Don't forget to put on your privacy light or else you'll have the doorbell going off constantly.

Don't touch the mini-bar! If you so much as move something or pick it up, you'll be charged.

  • Liked — The pool and spa
  • Disliked — Overpriced drinks and meals; no GYM
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Emm_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

I stayed here on business for two nights at the beginning of February. The hotel is excellent and part of the luxury collection for Starwood. The only one in Africa so Im told. Its by far the best in Addis with the Hilton being the next best and only really a 3 star. The hotel is fairly new. I was slightly dissapointed with the rooms in that they were a little basic but they had all the required amenities. The service was good but not excellent. There is however a good selection of restaurants in the hotel from Italian to Indian. There is a large pool area which caters for families as well as the business traveller. The hotel however is quite expensive although that said given what else is on offer you need to pay a premium and book early as getting a room can be difficult

  • Liked — Luxury hotel and top notch facilities
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

A work colleague and I stayed at the Sheraton Addis for 10 days in Jan. 2008. It was a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

On arrival at Bole Airport, there is a free shuttle service to the hotel. The waiting/seating area is immediately visible as one comes through the arrivals gate and apparently the shuttle meets every incoming flight. The trip to the hotel takes approx. 5 - 10 mins. depending on the time of day/night. We also took the shuttle back to the airport on our departure. This is also a free service and just needs to be arranged with the concierge on the day of departure.

Our twin room was spacious and attractively decorated. It contained two comfortable single beds, a couple of easy chairs, a TV-DVD combo, an office desk and chair, a mini-bar, and double doors to a small balcony.

The bathroom was also large and well fitted out. The toiletries were nice and replenished daily. The water may be used to brush ones teeth, etc. as, I understand, it comes from a spring on the premises (though it is probably still not suitable for drinking).

There are a number of options for accessing the Internet. The cheapest option is to use the Business Centre on the first floor where 6 computers are available for the use of guests at a cost of ETB2 per minute (with a 10 minute minimum). If one has a laptop it's also possible to get access in your room: 24 hours of in-room access costs ETB249, while 1 hour costs c.ETB149. I found the in-room service to be generally fast and fairly reliable, though on one occasion it was terribly slow and it did go down altogether on a couple of occasions.

The electricity also flicked off at least once daily! Though the generator kicks in almost immediately, it can be a bit of a shock if one is in the bathroom when this occurs as one is pitched in to total blackness. And, of course, if one is showering, the water also turns off!

The hotel has a wealth of amenities on site. These include a number of nice restaurants including an Italian, an Indian, a buffet restaurant, a pool-side restaurant, and a fancy French restaurant. We found the Indian to be particularly good and probably also the best value, though we also ate in the buffet, the Italian, and the pool-side restaurant/grill. In terms of shopping, there is a small 'general store' that stocks a limited range of gift items, a selection of books and magazines, some toiletries, etc.; there is also a nice flower shop, an expensive jewellery store, a laundry, and a nice bakery/cake shop.

There is a small bank on the premises and an ATM in the lobby. It should be noted that those small number of shops in Addis that take credit cards will only accept Visa. This is also true of the Sheraton (except, of course, that they will accept all manner of CCs for payment of the actual hotel bill!). I was told that the only shops that would accept MasterCard were those at the Hilton. The Sheraton ATM, which is one of only a few in Addis that takes foreign ATM cards, also only takes those in the Visa 'family.' The front desk will, however, give you a cash advance (in ETB) that can be added to your hotel bill.

The Sheraton has very nice grounds with a lovely grassy pool area with loungers and waiter service. The heated pool is large with a shallow end that is roped off from the deeper part and a separate childrens play area with a slide, etc. The pool is open from 5am to 11pm and can be quite crowded at weekends.

There are a number of bars on the premises. A pretty good live band plays in the outdoor bar on Wednesday and Thursday nights and there is a nightclub operational on Friday and Saturday nights.

Overall, I found the Sheraton Addis to be a very comfortable place to stay. There were some minor gripes: the bottled water in our room was not replenished regularly, there were some minor errors on our bill, etc., but overall I was pleased with the level of service and I would have to say that the Sheraton is the best hotel in Addis by far.

  • Liked — Impressive and clean accommodations, good food, gorgeous flower-filled compund
  • Disliked — Very expensive
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OranGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Sheraton Addis is the top hotel in Ethiopia: Best amenities, restaurants, well equipped rooms, etc. However, it lacks the small things that make a true 5 star hotel that could justify the 300 USD (tax included) night fare and the Luxury Collection affiliation. The design of both public spaces and rooms has no originality and reminds terribly 1980’s hotels in Gulf States. Some places, including the Aqua Club Jacuzzi are hideous. Rooms are very comfortable (great beds) but could have been more tasteful especially for SPG floor. Reception and service are not very flexible and welcoming. For instance, they charge a 60 USD supplement for early check-in, that applies even one hour before official time (3 PM), and even for SPG members. Room service can be very slow – you starve before they bring your fruits – or, at the contrary, too much present – they insist on bringing you the morning newspaper to the room even if the privacy button is on. With all these disappointments, there is nothing else in the country if we except the Hilton, less glittering but more homey.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Unexpected levels of luxury in one of the poorest regions of Africa, driven no doubt by the presence of loads of UN people, African Development Bank meetings, etc.
Great location, a chance to sample actual Ethiopian food (recommended by knowledgeble and enthusiastic staff) as well as the usual 'international' stuff.
Expensive, but well worth it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

The more time I spent in Ethiopia, the more I got to appreciate the Sheraton. We used to stay at the Hilton but don't any more because it's gotten quite rundown.

I don't have much to add to the other reviews but if you are trying to decide whether to stay at the Hilton or the Sheraton, here are the pros and cons:

Hilton's location is a little bit more central and it has a health club and excellent shopping both for souveneirs and toiletries. Sheraton has better food, the rooms are nicer and it has less shopping. The Hilton sometimes has water shortages. The Sheraton has wi-fi in the lobby and broadband in the rooms. (not free)

  • Liked — the roti in the Indian restaurant
  • Disliked — the lack of a health club
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
747 reviews
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Ctrip TA, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing