We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is a masterpiece from a time past. It is expensive and I did feel guilty staying in this palace in a city as poor as Addis but...wow. Gorgeous lobby and service from the Raj. If you are coming to Addis Ababa and are willing to pay, there can be no question this is THE hotel in this part of the world.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank DrFudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments - it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy our facilities and services. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sheraton Addis,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is certainly a grand hotel in scale and in service, providing you with a wonderful oasis in what can otherwise be a very hectic and somewhat overwhelming city. Uniformed staff interact with you with a level of formality you rarely see anymore, and while that is not really my thing, I have to say it was kind of nice to be so well treated and respected. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, with Hermès products in the bathrooms (I’d never seen those before). My only gripe is that there is no fitness facility of any sort, which is very strange for a hotel of this caliber and size. They need to fix that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StorytellerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and we are happy to hear that your overall experience was good except lack of fitness facility. We genuinely value our Guests' comments and regret when their expectations are not met. We understand your disappointment regarding lack of gym. However, we provide exercise bike up on request for our guests in an attempt to meeting their need of the fitness center; again please accept our apologies if the bikes were not offered for you.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sheraton Addis,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Grand Hotel of usual high international standard. This one is in Addis, but it could be in any other place in the world. No complains at all, while there is no african feeling. Extremely expensive as usual for such kind of hotels

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very high standard hotel for Ethiopia and meets normal expectations for the chain. Expensive, but there are few choices in Addis if looking for a place that completely insulates you from the hectic street life.

Service not bad and everyone friendly - as they are in Ethiopia. Rooms clean and well furnished. No iron & board, no tea & coffee making facilities and the bottled water isn't always replaced, but these are minor points. Internet free and works well.

Food is patchy. Limited breakfast choice although should be something for everyone. Lobby cafe is fine also. Tried the french restaurant 'Les Arcades', and this was disappointing unfortunately (and deserted!). Service variable - but never a problem.

Otherwise the most luxurious hotel in Addis Ababa, and would probably go back (although I personally prefer the Radisson...)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel was very comfortable with nice attributes. The garden area [walkway] and the colorful water fountain added to it's splendor. The staff was warm and friendly. I enjoyed my stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Before I start exhorting the fantastic attributes of the Sheraton Addis, I must acknowledge that outside the perimeter of the hotel is squalor and horrific poverty in the form of shacks and worst-scenario slum life. While I discovered the (very) rare high-quality hotel features and services of this Sheraton, I was always aware that just over the well-patrolled fence, life was quite different. That said, this hotel is really quite fabulous--beautiful pools, spas, rooms, & especially its helpful & charming staff. The Sheraton is quite literally in a class of its own in Addis; the only other Western style hotel is the Hilton which has all the charm of a high-rise concrete bunker.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the fountains and extensive garden area (otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What a lovely oasis! This hotel does a splendid job under what must be very challenging conditions due to the general level of poverty in Ethiopia. Most people in Ethiopia do not have flush toilets and a more than a third of the population, of 80,000,000; do not have running water in their houses. But the management of the hotel seems on top of everything. Manager, Mr. Daniels, is extremely professional and knows his rooms. Ms. Samrawit was really personable and customer oriented at check in. The concierge was very helpful about sightseeing and day trips. Most independent visitors are not tourists, but are on business or good will missions with NGO's. But Ethiopia has considerable potential for tourism.
Due to our Starwood status we were upgraded to a suite, room 301, which I highly recommend. It has a bath and a half, in addition to a charming living room and bedroom. The best part was that it had a porch (not just a balcony) which overlooked evening water displays.
The Starwood online pre pay rates are a real incentive and should be considered if you are sure you are going to be there.
The concierge lounge was furnished nicely but charged for drinks (except for coffee) at all times other than breakfast and the cocktail hour. The food generally suffered from too early prep and thus the few hot snacks were never hot or fresh. The breakfast display was lovely, but again did not seem fresh and the choices and quality suffer by comparison to other five star hotels . I understand that they may add some items to the breakfast in the near future.
There is a beautiful pool and grand convention and meeting rooms. The internet worked perfectly and is free for certain rates and Starwood levels.

Room Tip: We really liked suite 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 122 in Addis Ababa
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £274 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing