We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2009

One of the best in Africa. Truly confortable and pleasant - great service.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

Excellent service, excellent customer service, beautiful parka and garden

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank DianaK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I sometimes joke that I feel that we are supposed to feel bad for staying here, given the surrounding poverty, but I have no qualms with staying there, and it was reasonably nice.

The rooms are decent sized, ours had a balcony that looked out towards the pool. That sounded lovely, until we realized that there was a band that played basically directly below our window on the weekend.
The A/c was not very cool, and it is not possible to set it lower. Also, since the eucalyptus leaves being burned in the city can be pretty overwhealming, not to mention the prayers over loudspeakers starting at dawn, opening the balcony door is not an option.

The restaurants are passable, but WAY more expensive than what you can find in the city. Pass them by, and go out to eat. The one exception I would make is the treat of have lunch (albeit extremely overpriced lunch) served to you at your chaise by the pool.

The pool seems to be "famous" and for good reason. It really is lovely, especially at night with the twinkling lights in the surrounding roofs.

If you have kiddos, make a point to check out the fountain light show. Too much of a good thing, clocking in at 1 hour, but the kids loved it. Much of it is to Ethiopian music, which is nice.

One huge problem was our last night, and maybe it was just a fluke, but I will mention it. The electricity went out, which is common in Addis, but the hotel generators also failed. No generators meant no running water. Imagine a night with no running water, no A/c, no lights, oh, and we had some kind of stomach bug. I will leave the rest to your imagination, but trust me, it was awful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The Sheraton Addis is a superior hotel with the most accommodating, friendly and efficient staff that we think we have ever encountered in our travels. The Sheraton is promoted as "The Luxury Collection" and we really couldn't argue with that. We were very impressed with the accommodations, food, staff and location. Our room was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable and had a private balcony with a beautiful view. There are a number of restaurants within the hotel to choose from and there is an amazing breakfast buffet with a tremendous selection of foods artfully displayed. We also enjoyed local wines and great Ethiopian coffees in the lobby lounge. Another great feature of the hotel is that it houses a number of conveniences such as a bank for money exchange, a travel agency, a sweet shop, a florist (creating truly unique arrangements) and a great gift shop. Truly the most notable and memorable aspect of the Sheraton Addis was the staff. Everyone was so gracious, helpful and friendly. Smiles were everywhere! We were always greeted a friendly and enthusiastic "Good Morning!" or "Good Evening!" The hotel concierge even found us a wonderful driver/tour guide, Mr. Barak Bayeh, who took us on a city tour while filling us in on Ethiopia's history. Mr. Bayeh was very gracious, knowledgeable, an expert driver (with a reliable car) and honest. We ended up using Mr. Bayeh's service during our entire stay in Addis. The Sheraton Addis was a wonderful place to call home during our stay in Ethiopia and we will keep "The Luxury Collection" in mind for our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Very friendly, great room. Spent a total of 3 nights here - would go again without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LngNCongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your nice note about our facility and staff. It is our goal at Sheraton Addis to provide exceptional service and I am glad we had the opportunity to do so. We hope to welcome you back in Addis Ababa!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Addis isn't blessed with a great choice of hotels for business travellers. The Sheraton is full of people from UN and associated agencies and it's overpriced for what it is, but it's clean, the food isn't bad and the service is okay.

That's it, really. It's okay. Not great -- but where else are you going to stay? The Hilton? Trust me -- that's the Sheraton under another name.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Pros:
The best of everything. Every amenity you could imagine.

Cons:
Once inside hotel perimeter, you could be in any major city in the world. Luxurious but generic.
High security isolates guests from the "real" Ethiopia.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 127 in Addis Ababa
821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 127 in Addis Ababa
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 127 in Addis Ababa
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 127 in Addis Ababa
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 127 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £269 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing