We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable base in Addis!”
Review of Mamit Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mamit Guest House
Ranked #65 of 280 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Its location and the owners' hospitality made our stops in Addis very easy (they picked us up from the airport every time we stopped in the capital while waiting to get the flight to visit the North and South of the country!). THANKS!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlancaGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my second time to visit this beautiful city of Addis Ababa, and my visit was tremendously amazing this time, because I lived in a tremendously amazing guesthouse--That's Mamit Guesthouse. The rooms are extremely clean and the Mamit Guesthouse people are very genial, nice, and friendly. In fact, I did not feel I was living in a guesthouse. I felt I was in my home. There were people who were always ready and happy to help and serve me. In addition, if you are a fan of coffee, then there is an additional reason for you to choose Mamit Guesthouse, as they offer coffee in a traditional Ethiopian way, something that you would very much enjoy. Drinking coffee at Mamit is a fabulous experience. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse for every body who wants to make the most out of their visit to this wonderful, rich-of-culture country.

Room Tip: I like to live in bright rooms because they provide me with energy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank General763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I recently moved to Addis, and I stayed at Mamit Guest House while looking for a more permanent home. The staff and owners are all super friendly and helpful, and they even helped me to get a local sim card during my first few days! It is very new and clean. The only downside was the lack of wi-fi (but they are working on getting it soon!). However, you can go to their sister guest house (literally 1 minute walk down the street) and use the Internet there. I highly recommend Mamit to anyone passing through, especially as it so close the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My traveling companion found this place at the last minute after the hotel we were supposed to stay at "lost" our reservation. The building is new and the rooms are very clean. There were good-quality towels and shower shoes in each of the rooms, the beds were comfortable and the area seems to be quiet, except for the loud morning call to prayer.

The manager (I'm assuming) - Yeshim - was an absolute sweetheart. She organized taxis for us, cooked breakfast (included), etc., all in a very efficient and friendly manner. There were locking cabinets in the room and the hot water worked well.

Overall, a very enjoyable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melisochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Mamit Guest House is a small guesthouse owned by four super friendly and helpful brothers and sisters who welcomed us with a coffee ceremony. We paid 27 Euro for a double room with private bath, airport pick-up and breakfast.
The rooms have simple, but very clean private bathrooms and comfortable beds.
It is situated in Megananya, ten minutes from the airport, on a new road built between the Lem Hotel and the Totot Restaurant (called "Lem Hotel Road" by locals) just before the bridge over the Ring Road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuiyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neokizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.9 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 124 in Addis Ababa
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamit Guest House

Address: Lem hotel Road / Megnniy / near Kokabe Bldg, Addis Ababa 1000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mamit guest house for your bed and breakfast in historical country Addis Ababa Ethiopia. The guest house is located in the upscale neighborhood of Bole 3.3 km away from airport and 3minute drive. Mamit guest house is within walking distance to nearby supermarkets and popular Cafe;Restaurants , popular taxis, private, and affordable prices. Please visit us,warm home feeling ,with comfort and convenience every room is bright and quiet. The compound is very secure provides car parking. Would you imagine Addis Ababa is the oldest city, now she is 126 years old it is gorges. In Ethiopian culture the baby girl is called Mamit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing