We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanting in MAny Ways”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wanting in MAny Ways”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The beds in this hotel were quite comfortable but there was no water of electricity when we first arrived. To be fair this was not just the hotel's problem but there was no generator as there were in many Ethiopian hotels. The staff were very nice but the bathrooms were disgusting with toilets with broken flushing mechanisms and generally filthy and broken showers. Both rooms we had were like this. The staff were very nice and helpful and the food was quite good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. While you may have to share a bathroom in some of these you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    68
    75
    29
    23
See reviews for
8
55
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I loved the restaurant (excellent food) and outside tables where you can easily meet other travelers. Peaceful oasis in the middle of the Piazza madness. Tourist agencies and skybus office on site are a bonus. Easy to organise your travel around Ethiopia. Short walk to Ethiopian airlines office.
Rooms are a bit run down but clean. First time I stayed in a room with shared toilet- that was dirty and disgusting. Second time I choose self contained room- it was better, but the bathroom was very old with some broken bits.
Wifi was working on and off.
Bear in mind it's in Piazza- a bit rough part of town, but that's where most of backpackers places are. For me it was absolutely fine to stay there.
To sum up, I'd recommend it if you are looking for a safe place to stay where you can meet people and talk to the guides about your onward travel but you are not too fussy about the rooms quality.

Room Tip: There are various rooms at different prices. Shared toilets are a bit disgusting but if you pay just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annasito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went to this hotel since it was the best ranked hotel by Lonely Planet and I don't think we could be more disappointed. We had already been travelling around Ethiopia for two weeks and we had stayed in low budget hotels which were nevertheless clean and worth it. I can say that we were not looking for big luxuries, just a central location and clean.

The Taitu had a central location but that was about it... the room we got (in one of the adjacent buildings) was dirty, had cockroaches, smelt terribly of humidity and the bathroom did not have hot water (as we were told when making the reservation).

When we saw the room we were given (our mistake for not requesting to see it before hand) they told us there was nothing they could do...

Also the service at the restaurant was terrible, we asked for a macchiato and after 30 minutes waiting when we asked again for it they told that the coffee machine was not working that day... which we would have appreciate to know when we placed the order!

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms outside the main building, apparently those are slightly nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Taitu on our last day in Addis when we were catching a 3:30am flight. We basically wanted a hotel that was central, cheap, and well known.

The best things about this hotel are as follows: 1) the reception staff speak very good English and are SUPER helpful 2) They have a lot of perks like places to store valuables, two ATMs, a good restaurant etc 3) The main building is quite lovely and the restaurant is fairly priced 3) The sheets were fresh and clean and the maids brought us fresh towels 4) The beds were very comfortable.

The room we stayed in was a cheap room with a shared bathroom in Annex C. It cost 176 birr (USD 10) and was small, clean, and fresh and came with towels and toilet paper. However, there are two shared bathrooms per floor and they are gross (one long-drop toilet and one toilet without a seat, ew). Staying in an Annex room is like staying in a hostel - if you want something nicer, ask for the main building. We opted for no en suite due to our very short stay.

There are some good and honest tour companies on the premises (one arranged for a guide for the merkato for me since my BF was sick), the outdoor bar area is quite nice, and the central location can't be beat.

I would recommend Taitu as long as you know what to expect - you'll pay for a nicer room, but it appears they are worth it. That being said, if you're comfortable with a grotty bathroom, the backpacker-style rooms are fine too.

BTW I had a very good kitfo there served with gomen (spinach) and eib (cottage cheese).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peculiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was great!! its a beautiful historic building for a fairly good price. The rooms could definitely use some sprucing up, but the patio bar/restaurant is a great place to chill out. The WIFI could definitely use some work as it only works sometimes. Try the lunch buffet many locals come here for it its super cheap and really authentic food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephengollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed one night at taitu hotel mostly because of their airport pickup. I stayed in a single room with a toilet and they charged me 325 bir which i found very expensive since the condition of the room was not that great. Next morning i moved to Bole area where i found a clean 20$ guesthouse which i found very comforting. The real advantage of Taitu is the central location, historical value and price.

Room Tip: I have heard that some rooms are better than the part where i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The shared bathroom means, in Taitu, that there are two bathrooms per floor. I was also staying in one of the back buildings. Do not expect/imagine anything... somebody called this plays iconic... it is indeed the oldest hotel in the capital and has its charm altough I got it only after coming back there after four weeks travel around the country.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleksandraP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#22 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#48 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Property: Taitu Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing