We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love the Taitu”
Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love the Taitu”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I am going to make this short as I believe Midway42's review is excellent and captures the essence of the hotel. I will start by saying the Taitu is not for everyone and the photos of the exterior make it look better that it actually is. It is a bit rundown and some of the rooms in the back are absolute dungeons but if you get one in the main building its better. What I enjoyed about it is its downstairs eating area with some nice old woodwork and paintings and the general ambiance of lunch and dinner with the mixture of expat, tourist and locals. I've been to Addis several times and initially planned not to go back and to experience a more upmarket hotel but was drawn back by this faded old beauty (and its only $55 for the best room in the place!)

Room Tip: Unless you are backpacking and on a tight budget get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    68
    76
    29
    23
See reviews for
8
55
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,426 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Itegue Taitu Hotel which also coincided with my first two days in the country. My plan was to use it as a base for checking out the city in addition to spending some time in an historic hotel that was easy on the wallet. Check-in was quick and hassle-free, although as I found out the services for Visa were “broken” (a somewhat common occurrence I found out over the next two weeks) and $40 cash each night was the only option.

My room suffered from the usual schizophrenia seen in historic budget hotels: outdated, barely functional equipment in the shell of what could be fantastic living quarters with a decent renovation. In this case, everything actually did work including hot water for the shower but the pressure was quite weak and it took about three minutes of “adjustments” to get the proper temperature. The bed was clean with sleep quality only limited by the outside hustle and bustle.

There is a decent restaurant downstairs that I ate dinner at a couple nights. Prices were respectable with fair service. This does seem to be frequented by ex-pats quite a bit and there was “ethnic” entertainment during my second night. Location for this address is a bit out-of-the-way with the exception of it being a five minute walk to St. George’s church; most other locations that tourists check off their list will require a taxi or tuk-tuk to access.

In summary, this hotel came as advertised: an historic budget hotel with a memorable atmosphere and enjoyable vibe. I wouldn’t strongly recommend it as much as let the reader make up their own mind on whether it suits their taste. I would definitely stay here over the Sheraton (in a heartbeat!) as I think it gives a more authentic experience of the city but as above there are some minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location is very good, price/value also very good compared to other locations is Addis.
But if you are expecting purity and European standard then it's not your place.
Rooms are great enough, furniture is old, bath with some defects but with warm water.

Highlights:
1. the jazz-soul bar in the main building (ground flour, entrance from the garden)
2. restaurant
3. surroundings (Piazza)

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As often in Ethiopia, running an amazing place seems to justify disdain for clients. We were treated so badly that I feel like rating it 'horrible', but honesty dictates to acknowledge the good sides of Hotel Taitu. Here are the pros and cons of staying there:

Pros
- all taxis know the place
- you feel very safe with the guards at the hotel compound gate
- there is a bank inside the hotel compound where you can change money, and several ATMs
- the hotel restaurant is excellent, both for food quality and quality of service
- the old-fashioned elegance of the hotel main building

Cons
- neither the website nor the receptionist indicates prices before booking: they only inform that they have different prices; upon arrival it was significantly higher than expected (688 birr for a double room)
- the room was spartan and not so clean, certainly not worth the high price
- the reception took a week to reply to my email booking, so I called after two days to make sure we would have a room, asking specifically to disregard my previous email booking; once arrived at the hotel, they implied that we booked twice and made us explain ourselves three times
- receptionists take shifts; we saw them requesting receipts to Japanese tourists who paid another receptionist in good faith, so we asked for receipts; they dragged their feet and gave us angry looks
- when we checked in at the reception, we asked if we could change money here, they said yes and offered a poor rate, without informing us about the bank next to the hotel
- Ethiopians informed that you stay there will assume that you are rich (you often get asked by Ethiopians trying to sell you something)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAVBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Taitu is a great choice for budget travelers. And you probably won't find cheaper rooms (around 160 Birr) in that area (Piazza). But you should definitely check out the rooms first.
The restaurent is great and the staff really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I can recommend Room 196. Huge Bed, Balcony and WiFi access (pretty slow, but fast enough for emails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domi_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for 6 different nights so tried all types of their accommodation. The pits are the rear building rooms....dirty, sheets looked like they were never changed, unbelievable toilet....worse than some in India. For $10 you get Gulag 17.
The main part of the hotel is the best at $20....hot water too !! Can be noisy if you get the road/Piazza side. Ask for the beer garden side with balcony...excellent to have a beer and watch sunsets.
The restaurant here is very good however the service can be up or down.
The reception girls are the best in all Ethiopia....so helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the beer garden side....not the roadside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After good reviews in the Lonely Planet, we decided to spend our last night in Addis Ababa in the Itegue Taitu Hotel. The food at the restaurant was really good, and the house, garden and restaurant are beautifully renovated. Our disappointment was quite big when we saw our room. Although it was big, it was very rundown, the mattress hanging, no decoration whatsoever, the floor probably clean but had holes in it.... The bathroom was so old and rundown it looked almost disgusting. We had only one towel, no shower curtain or floor mat. But sufficient hot water!

All this for the same price we paid in the Lewi Resort in Awassa... incomparable.

Both of us felt that this hotel has so much potential and it is really a pity that they don't put more effort into the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#51 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#9 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Property: Taitu Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing