We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent self brewed beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beer Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beer Garden Inn
Ranked #59 of 215 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent self brewed beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was able to visit the bar and restaurant many times. The style is unique for Ethiopia. They brew their own beer using German technology. It is unique and tasty light beer draught. Their food is also delicious especially chickens. Located in the main city and has enough parking spaces. The price is a little bit expensive but worth paying to have a wonderful beer and food. Services are also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amha_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
6
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our company has used this hotel many times in the last year, because its good value and very close to our office. But this time, because of a problem with flights leaving Addis, my room was double booked, They did get me a room 5 mins drive away for the one night, but I didn't want to have to unpack and then again straight away. Gone to The Harmony just up the road - more expensive, but seems very good - clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful staff.
Not really a review of The Beer Garden, which does have good food, but I was disappointed

Room Tip: Have a back up hotel ready!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_fatherbav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Ulm
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Beer garden inn is just 10 minute away from the airport in a busy business location. It offers never the less quiet and very good hotel rooms at an absolutely reasonable price.
For an African Hotel it’s just unexpected to find a very well-managed, perfectly organized hotel with friendly staff, service orientation and all you need facilities.
The restaurant offers very tasty dishes and the beer it’s not only the name, brewed on the premises following good old german rules is a real experience.
The shuttle service form and too the airport is include in the room price a very nice touch. The breakfast buffet was perfect serving for every taste, continental with a variety of cooked options to order separately (include in the price) and nice fruit selection, fresh cheese and a variety of bread.

Room Tip: The higher floors are generally less noisy and offer additionally the nice overview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel was nice and staff was help one and breakfast good.
This was also restaurant beer garden, where one have lunch and dinner
and friends for beer.
The room had nice and the view was good. The location was easy to work
and shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf bay area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We decided to stay at the BGI because of their website claim of having 2 king beds in the room (which we called the hotel to confirm, and they assured us that they did indeed have this room type). When we arrived (2 adults + a child) we were shown to a room with 1 full sized bed. I went back to the lobby and explained that we had reserved a room with 2 king beds and I was given the key to another room...which had 2 twin sized beds. I took my computer to the lobby and showed them the page that stated they had 2 king sized beds indicating that this was the room we wanted. They apologized and said that it was a mistake and they didn't have this type of room.

They offered us a connecting room, which we reluctantly took, mainly because we were exhausted from travel, but also because they had a nice playground area in front of the hotel where my daughter could play.

The room itself was adequate, but noting to write home about. The beds were uncomfortable though the sheets were nice and soft. The bathrooms were tiny and the towels very worn.

When I took my daughter out to the playground I was stopped by the security guard and told that it was "forbidden" to play there. I asked why and he said that it was not yet complete (which was BS - it was totally complete). I went back inside and asked the receptionist why we couldn't play there and she said it was not allowed, but couldn't give me a reason. They wouldn't even let us walk along the gravel pathway alongside the playground, but instead made us walk through the mud driveway (in the rainy season).

Also, when we checked out and tried to pay with Visa they said that it was not working and that we'd have to pay with cash - in US dollars. Since we didn't have enough cash, they wanted me to go to a bank and take a cash advance on my credit card. All the while displaying a giant VISA sign on their reception desk. Ridiculous.

We definitely would not stay here again, nor would we recommend it to anyone that we know.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The rooms aren't exactly illustrious but they aren't too small. The bathrooms was clean. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, as were the porter service staff. There is a small business centre with computers and internet. The restaurant is ok. The food is nothing special (pasta and steaks mainly) but the coffee is good. The location is good, in Bole, just down from Edna Mall/Bole Medhanealem. Watch out for pick pockets near the roundabout, it's a well-know place to get robbed by the street kids here! There is a cupcake shop and small mall across the road, the Apple/iPhone shop is also a bit further down. There is a green area out the front of the hotel with a small children's playground. There's a bit of construction going on around the area (as there seems to be everywhere in Addis!) but it wasn't as noisy as I expected it to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addis ababa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here many times during 2009 and 2010 for work. Compared with all the other business hotels in Addis, this is very good value, clean, friendly staff. The showers were sometimes not extremely hot but the staff always came to fix it when I had a problem. The breakfast was very good for Addis standards. And the conference room is also good value and very nice.
The only issue we had for our company was the name of the hotel. I used to use it for every training and conference until our director decided that the name of the hotel was not suitable for high level meetings.
Overall, my favourite hotel in Addis. The pickup service from the airport was always reliable. The restaurant at the beer garden has really nice food. Location is good, near the cinemas, shops, and many restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#59 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siyonat Hotel
Siyonat Hotel
#29 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Momona Hotel
Momona Hotel
#40 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Apartment Hotel
Millennium Apartment Hotel
#90 of 215 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Natna Hotel
Natna Hotel
#124 of 215 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beer Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beer Garden Inn

Property: Beer Garden Inn
Address: Bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beer Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beer Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beer Garden Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing