We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is very convenient as it is not far from the airport and the city. The staff are very accommodating. We went there as family and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The rooms are very spacious. The staff are always available to meet your needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Myself and my husband went to Ethiopia to adopt our son, Daniel As one can imagine this was a very emotional experience. We were nervious, excited and at times felt vulnerable. We had seen a reference on Trip Advisor by other adoptive parents staying at the Sidama Lodge and decided to book ourselves in.
I should say that the adoption agency in Addis were not too happy as they recommend their own establishments which I later understood pay commission to the agency. However we insisted on staying with the Sidama Lodge and have no regrets. It was simply a fantastic experience not least because of the large rooms with seperate bedrooms and the small kitchens. It was just what we wanted as a new family:space, security and confort. The staff were outstanding and could not have done more. They were kind and understanding. They helped with little Daniel when at times he cried and needed extra attention. For myself and my husband, we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel and let the staff know if you are bringing children along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Sidama Lodge has a great location which is just off the Bole Road on the main road from the airport. The staff are excellent and the rooms are very large. It is ideal for a consultant like myself with plenty of working space and a quite environment yet close to offices and embassies in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpetersmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We went with my two daughters for our first visit to Ethiopia. It's such a beautiful country with so much to offer and wonderful people. We stayed at sidama lodge for five nights and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff were welcoming,kind and the actual hotel was so clean, five star standards. Attention to detail was second to none.

Room Tip: There is no lift for someone who might have a problem with climbing the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Sidama Lodge is located close to the airport just off the Bole Road on the same street as the EU Delegation office. It is a wonderful place for someone who wants a clean, secure environment with excellent staff.

I particularly enjoyed the large rooms and the quite environment with excellent Internet access. I understand this is recent as the owners got the Internet upgraded some months ago.

While the lack of a restaurant would not appeal to some, I found this to be excellent as i enjoy cooking for myself.

Room Tip: Get one of the standard rooms which have a separate bedroom and salon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I can only say this is the best place to stay in Addis if you want a clean, friendly environment with staff who care.
The location is great, just off the Bole road which is now of course under construction, but this location will be perfect after the Bole Road construction is complete.
The best thing about the lodge is the staff who really seem to care about the guests.

Room Tip: Get one of the standard rooms which are particularly large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The rooms are fine at Sidama, and the art gallery is charming, but the ventilation in the building is terrible, so it really smells.... anytime anyone fries bacon downstairs or cooks onion in their room, you get the smell in every bedroom! The doors are thin and every room opens off the central stairwell so you hear every knock on every door. There is no fire escape so it's not an approved hotel for British embassy visitors for health and safety reasons. They have recently closed the coffee shop so you cant get any meals other than breakfast. The internet is poor. The location is currently quiet but will not remain so once the road is re-opened. Its a nice neighborhood with many restaurants and gyms in walking distance. A calm place to work, with very friendly staff, but there are many new 'apartment-hotels' in the same Bole area which compete by offering better rates, better internet, more modern touches.

Room Tip: rooms nearer the ground floor have better wifi connection but then the breakfast smell from kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoburgFacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#16 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
3.6 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn

Property: Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn
Address: Cape Verde Street | Bole Sub city, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidama Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing