We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sidama Lodge & Sidama Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Hotel(Addis Ababa)
US$125
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ag Palace Hotel(Addis Ababa)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$582
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
US$80
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nazra Hotel(Addis Ababa)
US$100
US$70
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Addis Ababa)
US$144
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lobelia(Addis Ababa)
US$85
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caravan Hotel(Addis Ababa)
US$68
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
40
12
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
12
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had the opportunity to stay in one of their topfloor, 2 bedroom apartments for a month and it was fantastic. The apartment was very cosy. Nice furniture. Kitchen was equipped with most things you will need. There was both a fridge and a freezer. Every morning they came up with your pre-ordered breakfast on a tray (included in room price). Cleaning was also perfect. All personell was very friendly and helpful (not all spoke english but almost all). Hotel is situated at the end of Cape Verde road, just before the new bridge to Ruwanda which was perfect for me. You have many supermarkets within walking distance. And on and around the major road, Bole Road, you will find all types of shops, cafes and restaurants. Also walking distance to the Edna mall with cinemas and shops.

Room Tip: 403 - top floor 2 bedroom apartment with huge terrace and 2 balconies. Light from all directions gives this apartment both brightness and warmth.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouvenirBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The first thing you notice when entering the lobby it climbing up the stairs to see a room is the abundance of original art on the walls.it lends the hotel an ambience of sophistication and also relaxation that is uncommon. As always its a must to compare rooms; I stayed in three different rooms over the period of a week and had three different hotel experiences. In 201 is where there is value; this is the least expensive "studio" room and while not expansive is very comfortable for two (one queen bed,) The bed was okay by American standards and very good by ET standards. The shower in the bathroom is a cheap capsule looking thing that is a very very tight fit. I'm HWP and wonder how a larger person could possibly shower in there. Room 304 (note this is even side of building) was a nightmare for sleeping in even as it was by far the most attractive and spacious of the three rooms. It was a little over $100 usd and sleeping there was impossible for someone even nominally bothered by noise. There is a malfunctioning generator right outside window that was very loud and yet no match for the FIVE hour long chanting that began around 2am at a neighboring mosque. So I moved into another "executive suite" on the odd side- 401- and slept fine BUT was being charged the same as the lovely 304 for a much smaller and plain Jane suite. Not a good value at $100.
Throughout, the staff were beyond polite; they are warm and eager to be if service. I was given 10% discount on on room (we rented two) for the rest of my stay but in truth it would have been better business to comp me the awful night especially because they admitted generator was loud and not properly working!
Breakfast is served to you in your room because they have no dining room. This is nice if you have a suite with table and chairs. It was also pretty good with a selection of preparations for eggs, etc. it's. a Western not ET meal.
The place is very very clean and again, all the staff from doorman to housecleaning seem intent on making you feel like a valued guest.
Short-ish walking distance to shopping and the very nice Boston Day Spa.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had a quick stop over in Addis for two days and the Sidama Lodge was recommended to me by s friend who had stayed there previously. It is close to the airport yet also close to all the
main business areas of
the city. I could not fault the place. Staff are incredible, always ready to help and those on the reception have excellent English, something which is really important in Ethiopia where the English language is still not widespread something which surprised me in what is the headquarters of the African Union. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Sidama Lodge to someone who wants a clean, well
located hotel in Addis.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pikerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is very convenient as it is not far from the airport and the city. The staff are very accommodating. We went there as family and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The rooms are very spacious. The staff are always available to meet your needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Myself and my husband went to Ethiopia to adopt our son, Daniel As one can imagine this was a very emotional experience. We were nervious, excited and at times felt vulnerable. We had seen a reference on Trip Advisor by other adoptive parents staying at the Sidama Lodge and decided to book ourselves in.
I should say that the adoption agency in Addis were not too happy as they recommend their own establishments which I later understood pay commission to the agency. However we insisted on staying with the Sidama Lodge and have no regrets. It was simply a fantastic experience not least because of the large rooms with seperate bedrooms and the small kitchens. It was just what we wanted as a new family:space, security and confort. The staff were outstanding and could not have done more. They were kind and understanding. They helped with little Daniel when at times he cried and needed extra attention. For myself and my husband, we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel and let the staff know if you are bringing children along with you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews