We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Libreville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence Hoteliere du Phare
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Libreville
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in Libreville on a business trip and the client booked me in to this hotel. This is a small boutique hotel located right on the sea shore and the dining area opens on to the beach.
My room was large and well fitted out and overlooked the sea.
The restaurant is very much a place to be seen in Libreville and the food & wine are on the whole very good.
The internet worked well while I was there.
The design,situation on the beach and ambience are more romantic than business, but even for work it is certainly one of the best places to stay in Libreville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is a 2-minute drive from the international airport, situated in a residential area. When you drive in, your first impression is of a pretty nondescript apartment building, but don't be fooled. Once you step in through the entrance into the small reception area, the warmth and charm of the place are readily apparent. The rooms are very comfortable, well-appointed and clean. The ground floor rooms literally open directly onto the beach. WiFi is pretty decent and the food is excellent. A lot of the restaurant staff don't speak English and the menus are in French so be prepared for that if you don't speak the latter. The beach in front of the hotel is nice as well, and not at all crowded though this may also have been something to do with the rainy weather we had while there.

All in all, I really enjoyed the place and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Saffer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed one night in December and was pleasantly surprised. Very comfortable hotel with modern clean rooms. Food was to a good standard, but the best thing about the hotel was the location....right on the beach, and a lovely beach at that, nice pool with bar area, if it hadn't been threatening rain I've had enjoyed an evening sat outside.
Would stay again if I'm ever in Libreville.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTravels262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a quite pleasant place to stay in Libreville. A couple of minute's drive from the airport, but you wouldn't notice from the nice setting on a beach. The rooms are ok - quite expensive for what you get, but then again everything in Libreville is. Right on the beach, good shower with strong water pressure, very clean, a rather sophisticated satellite TV system which required asking one of the hotel staff to come and show us how it worked, lots of space to store luggage, clothes, etc. One complaint is that the bed was hard - really hard.

The food in the restaurant is on a different level. Again, not cheap, but really, really excellent. Nothing we had disappointed, but the best is to probably go for the specials of the day. Service was good, especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

i didnt know what to expect when this hotel was booked for me and i thought it was good for African standards. The restaurant is lovely and has a wonderful view setting on the beach. the rooms are basic but work and good be improved on. the only challenge i had was in paying in dollars and on a mastercard. try and get euros and a visa card.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Sort of al fresco dining - one is eating under covered patio outside, with the beach literally on your doorstep (you can get up and waly 20 feet and step onto it!). Ambiance is great, tables a spaced far apart and service is discrete. We had both fish and meat dishes - all superbly cooked. The fish was probably caught that morning. Only drawback is that there is no air conditioning and thus you need to be cognizant of the climate and the mosquitos!

3  Thank rockdoctor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

After several visits to other African countries, this visit to Gabon was much more pleasant. Friendly people, clean room, fine food and magnificent view from the dining room of hotel du Phare were the highlight of my visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magdy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Libreville hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Libreville
0 mi away
Royal Palm
Royal Palm
#6 of 19 in Libreville
43 reviews
4 mi away
Le Patio
Le Patio
#9 of 19 in Libreville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Le Meridien Re-Ndama
Le Meridien Re-Ndama
#15 of 19 in Libreville
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Onomo Hotel Libreville
Onomo Hotel Libreville
#10 of 19 in Libreville
114 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel La Baie des Tortues Luth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hoteliere du Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hoteliere du Phare

Address: Bp 13468 | La Sablière, Libreville 7279, Gabon
Region: Gabon > Estuaire Province > Libreville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Libreville
Price Range: £127 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 5 minutes from the airport, on the water front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Hoteliere Du Phare Hotel Libreville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing