We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dinning in Libreville”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roma Restaurant

Roma Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Libreville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italian Restaurant
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dinning in Libreville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

One of the best restaurant I had the opportunity to sample in Libreville. Very good food,and good service. It is also one of the most expensive in town. However it was well worth a try and in any case nothing is cheap in LBV.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca B, Proprietario at Roma Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish restaurant and not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

When I go to italian restaurant, I expect meat, pasta, pizza... but not there, most of the menu is with fish or seafood with vegetables or rice, and it is expensive for what it is

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzungu_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca B, Proprietario at Roma Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Google Translation
Bonsoir,
Vous êtes venu dans un restaurant, mais en effet vous cherchiez une « Pizzeria”. La différence est énorme.
Désolé que vous n’aviez pas trouvez des pizzas, mais nous ne la faisons pas, et nous n’avons pas l’intention de en faire dans le futur.
Pour ce qui concerne les pâtes, il y a deux pages sur le menu dédiées aux pates, sans compter les suggestions du jour. C’est pas correct ce que vous dites.
Je vous informe que en Italie, on ne mange pas seulement que des pates ou des pizzas du midi au soir ; parfois ça nous plait de nous régaler avec un plat de poisson ou un morceau de viande. Etant donné que Libreville se trouve sur la mer, est tout à fait normal de trouver dans notre restaurant poisson et crustacés frais en quantité.
Concernant les prix, ça ne reste que votre avis et je le respect. Sachez juste que le prix et la qualité d’une Pizzeria et d’un Restaurant ne sont pas les mêmes.
Désolé de me répéter, mais vous vouliez manger une pizza, et faire un repas à prix correct, mais vous êtes venu dans un restaurant gastronomique ou il n’y a pas des plats « économiques » (pizza etc.). Dans notre Restaurant nous recherchons plutôt l’excellence, en utilisant les meilleurs produits du marché.
Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Roma is one of the best restaurants in Libreville. You can find Italian cousine selections as well as local seafood specialties.

I tried beef carpaccio and had a mixed seafood platter. Carpaccio was excellent. Seafood was fresh and very delicious. Wine was better that the average.

It is an expensive restaurant as all restaurants in Libreville. The prices are almost double coompared to similar restaurants in major European cities.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MustafaEsitgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca B, Proprietario at Roma Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“World class cuisine, service a bit too intrusive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Food is unexpectedly good, especially the entry salads and the Copa Roma dessert. This restaurant's got a very serious chef and really delivers a "gastronomique" experience. Ambiance is a little tacky though and the main maître is also a little annoying, out of sync with the rest of the team of waiters, who are very discreet and appropriate. Me and my wife used to be regulars to Roma as we're living in Libreville, but stopped going as often as we used to because of the maître, who couldn't help but to make irritating questions about why we had skipped the restaurant for an entire week or why we don't have yet children as we're married and in the beginning of our 30s. He even asked for money to help him pay the medical bills of his son! It's a shame, because food and wine selection is outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassiano1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca B, Proprietario at Roma Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2015
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libreville, Gabon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

While the food is excellent and service good. Like all high class restaurants in Libreville quite expensive. Leaves you with a good experience and a bit ripped off.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca B, Proprietario at Roma Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roma Restaurant also viewed

Libreville, Estuaire Province
Libreville, Estuaire Province
 
Libreville, Estuaire Province
Libreville, Estuaire Province
 
Libreville, Estuaire Province
Libreville, Estuaire Province
 

Been to Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing