We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijilo Forest Park

Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Banjul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park contains a wide variety of birds.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monkey Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nice day out and lovely to see Monkey's everywhere you looked. But be prepared to get lost... the pathways they recommend you take are not made clear once you set out, the path's are suppose to be set out in colours on the tree's but they have faded over time, even when we found an area where it said map there was not one... you got to love gambia !! apart from trekking for what seems like forever to find the exit it's well worth a visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NinaFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    110
    40
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Grat place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Brilliant! Lots of monkeys who will sit on your knee and eat your nuts, ha ha great place to spend an hour or two, very hot!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy1966_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this more than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had seen monkeys at out resort previously so went for the birds really. However we saw lots of tiny monkeys which were cute. We did not try to feed them as we were warned not to do so - feeding them is creating a problem as there are so many ! However we had one of the official Guides who led us along the tracks to where he knew the different birds were usually to be found and he was able to name, describe and call them with different whistles and his iPhone (!) and we saw many more than we would have had we gone on our own. Enjoyable walk and well worth the 150d; the Guide was free but we felt he did deserve the tip we gave him.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SittingbourneAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Everyone must see this!! Entrance fee is 60 dalashi. At the entrance, you will be offered to be guided by a local person but don't accept it. They will try to frighten you with poisonous snakes, but there are no snakes in the park actually (they say there are green mambas but... green mambas live in rain forest, don't they?) You can purchase peanut next to the main road for a very cheap price. This is very good for the monkeys, they love it. Be careful, monkeys try to get your peanuts out of your pocket.
It's a lifetime experience, don't miss it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biyadh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A large area of forest, just a short distance from the beach, and easy to get to by taxi.
You will meet plenty of monkeys and it is a great trip.
Guides will walk around with you, and the monkeys know them... be careful the monkeys like to take your glasses or look in your bag for nuts.
You can walk at your own pace and enjoy the surroundings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchell213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijilo Forest Park also viewed

Banjul, Banjul Division
 
Kotu, Banjul Division
 

Been to Bijilo Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing