We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Accra”
Review of Highgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highgate Hotel
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is good compared with Accra hotels.
The AC is good, the internet is good too and breakfast is ok too.
The tank in the bathroom makes some noise every now and the bathroom could be maintained better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doriti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

5th time in a year at Highgate, my usual place then. Nice hotel with good location: 15 minutes by taxi during rush hour to anywhere in the city. Free internet access, free airport pick-up and drop-off, breakfast included. Personel is very nice and warmely welcomes me when I'm back.

Cheaper than other options in Accra. It doesn't have a gym, but another hotel down the road will let you use theirs for a fee or you can walk / jog in the quiet district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhildeBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was good for business, with its own parking area. It is located close enough to government offices as to be a good location. The food is average to below average. If you want a mixed drink, you may have to instruct the bartender how to make what you want.

Room Tip: Bring your own conditioner; ask for a hairdryer if you need one. The air conditioner and water heate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel is nice enough, but it's pretty basic. The a/c went off in the middle of the night and never came back on, when we tried to call the desk about the a/c we discovered that the phone in the room wasn't connected to anything.
The restaurant is nice enough and breakfast is ok, but the service is very slow.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stayed here for two and a half weeks and felt right at home. The staff were extremely friendly and did attend to my needs. I met a great guy who worked for the concierge and he literally looked after me on trip. Even down to buying my phone credit or bargaining with taxis which is definitely needed in Accra. The restaurant had a very nice antique feel to the place and the food was great. There was a dish i had almost every night that contained sole fish with a citrus taste. Breakfast was also good. Location wise i could get to meetings on time as it is very centrally located to the ministries and other major commercial areas. There just seemed to be a very warm friendly ambiance in the hotel and the front desk staff always asked how my day had been which i felt was nice. I stayed in a standard room which was very modest in size. I had some guests come to visit and did not feel crowded in the room which is normally the case with me. Overall i feel i did have the boutique hotel experience which is why i stayed there. The prices are very good in comparison to other hotels in and around Accra. I paid $160 per night which worked out good for me for the length of time i stayed. This included breakfast. Overall i will stay there again on my return to Accra.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very generous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in January for a business trip.

Was put up here by a client...cheap hotel i guess at about $80USD/night.

It's clean BUT very basic......maybe a 1 star in my books.

Stay here if you plan on not being in the room for more than just your sleep!

Also, i woke up in the AM with my feet covered in bites....not too sure if they were Mosquito bites or something else!

Overall, it's an OK place.....would i stay here again.....probably not!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

PLEASE CARRY YOU VISA CREDIT/ DEBIT CARD. THEY ONLY ACCEPT VISA CARDS. IF YOU DONT HAVE VISA, THEN DO GO THERE, THE LADY WILL BEHAVE PATHETICLY RUDE TO YOU.

Hi, I visited to Accra and stayed at HIghgate Hotel. It was ok ok experience. One of the lady at the reception (it seems she is the supervisor of other receptionist) is exceptionally pathetic, rude, with pinch of attitude, and no good help to customers. She behaves, as if she is doing a favour by gettig us a room.She need to learn basics of customer services at front desk. The rooms were ok, nothing special. Only with one bathing they expect you to finish your stay. Room service dont provide another bathsoap. The food is good. Location is awesomly pleaseant. The inside hotel staff are helpful, good people. Its a truth, you give respect and get respect. Good place to stay if have a budget between 120-150 USD per day. Even though its not worth paying that much. Its worth something 90-100 USD per day..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linilchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.7 mi away
Kings Royal Atlantic Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#15 of 91 in Accra
34 reviews
9.4 mi away
Paloma Hotel Spintex
Paloma Hotel Spintex
#50 of 91 in Accra
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Byblos
Hotel Byblos
#47 of 91 in Accra
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#19 of 91 in Accra
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maxlot Hotel
Maxlot Hotel
#38 of 91 in Accra
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Hotel

Address: 70 Mango Tree Avenue | Asylum Down, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highgate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highgate Hotel offers many benefits to the business traveler, and customers. For years, executive leaders, travelers and business clients have been utilizing and returning to Highgate because of the wonderful services we provide to our customers. Located in a key-note area of Asylum down, having a guaranteed accommodation in the heart of the city makes commuting around Accra easier and faster. Kotoko International Airport is only a 10 min drive from the hotel, as well as tourist hotspots such as Labadi pleasure beach and Kokrobite beach. Boasting of 33 spacious rooms, Highgate hotel has rooms ranging from standard to executive to suites tailored to suit individuals of every aspect. Built in a spacious ground with beautiful greenery and a team of enthusiastic, friendly and delegated staff Highgate staff are trained to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. With superb cuisine and a wonderful ambiance, Highgate provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, retreats, team building programs and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing