We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Excellent service,excellent food, friendly staff, welcome to the real hospitality, the rooms are extremely good and clean, food holds the taste of an experienced chef, the hotel management are looking for details in the property and following up for better guest satisfaction, good luck guys it was such ah unforgettable stay...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shady815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

i spent 2 nights in the Regent Hotel, we were welcomed with a fresh juice and a smile from the door of my car till the reception. The quality and cleaness exceeded our expectation as it is rare to find clean hotels in this region.
Food was based on local ingredients and plenty of fresh fruits, it was a Yummi tasty food, i can only thank the chef...Staff assisted us during the stay to enjoy our time and discover the places arround!
Guys do not hesitate, just book it and bargain for a good rate/prices

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I spent a terrible night at GS Plaza and was keeping my fingers crossed after having decided to give this hotel a try. phew! I was pleasantly surprised as Patricia, the front desk manager promptly upgraded me to a suite after realizing it was my birthday.
The suite was huge and beautifully decorated in African theme. There was a sense of warmth in the room and the bed was very comfortable. However, the air conditioner was placed at the wrong location such that the cold air did not reach the bed and I felt warm in the room even at 19 degrees Celsius.
There could have been more towels in the huge bathroom. There was just one hand towel and one bath towel. No face towel was provided and there was no toothbrush either. A vanity set in the bathroom would have made my stay complete. The hotel management should look into providing these amenities to enhance the guest experience.
The Wifi did not work in the bedroom though it was fast in the sitting area.
The breakfast spread was sumptuous and the fruits were fresh and sweet. There was even a chance to sample the local African Kooku!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was at the African Regent in September 2012 with my family of 4 for a weekend. The rooms were clean and neat, staff pleasant and accomodating.
The food was mainly african and well prepared with a few continental options.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean room, nicely decorated, A/C worked great, internet is OK, food was good, friendly service, staff was great and helpful. Close to Airport. Mall is located short walking distance. Will stay there again when in Accra.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taildragger_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I just came back from Accra, where I was on a work visit. Spent a lot of time trying to choose a hotel (these are very expensive in Accra), but finally settled for the African Regent. What a great choice it turned out to be!

Pros
-standard rooms clean and acceptable size. With big enough closet, room safe, mini fridge (that place is hot, good for chilling drinks)
-music system with iPod dock
-bathroom was clean, spacious and cleaned daily, with enough towels and cosmetics also provided daily
-nice touches provided daily: mini chocolate bar, 2 bottles of Voltic water (500ml)
-electric circuits worked excellently for my European appliances (2 pin plugs) with no need for an adapter
-Internet was easy to connect to and worked well for me throughout the premises (my colleague did say though that for her, it was the opposite)
-ordered room service twice- quick and tasty
-bed very comfortable
-in-room tea and coffee making facilities
-great art work in the rooms, add to the cosiness
-air con in each room (it can get pretty hot!)
-lastly, the biggest pro of all- gpthe staff. I am not the kind of person who keeps to myself, I love interacting with people on almost anything. So it was nice to have conversations with the hotel staff- reception, cleaning and door staff- always with warm smiles. However, the serving ladies in the lobby bar were at times rude and forgetful of orders (no smiles either)

Cons
-ladies in the lobby bar as mentioned above
-water in the bathroom was warm and not hot
-gym: could be bigger and offer more equipment.
-sauna: available at a fee. Why?
-tv: terrible reception, could not watch anything. Surprised that major news networks were not in the package. CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera would be great
-housekeeping: one day I had to do a lot of work, so stayed in my room for most of the day working. House keeping knocked at my door at least twice (to spray the room, leave the chocolate bar etc). Wouldn't it be more efficient if all this is done at the cleaning stage?
-spa prices: very expensive. Would help to help fairer prices so as to get more customers!
-hotel shop: one day I needed 'female products' and they didn't have any.

All in all, great stay and would recommend to other people. Would I go back again- maybe.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Sithandiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Two nights there, a lot to know. The front desk staff was funny, welcoming and help full.
Rooms are big, clean and well maintained. (Air conditioning worked good)
Was a wonderful, seating at the reception to enjoy the piano bar. This young girl singer got a world class voice.
In general the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, willing and ready to pose for pictures with guests.
The food at the restaurant was affordable (not need to go out looking for a bargain) and it was good, however....... Be careful choosing it; dome ditches are HOT.
In general the experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms at the first floor (reception is at the zero "0" floor) this rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
632 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#17 of 90 in Accra
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237 / 238 Airport West | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: £125 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed decor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing