We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you like loud music reverberating through your room this is the place to stay. Poolside band with total disregard for guests wishing to relax. Very expensive drinks and totally inept service in restaurant. Waiting staff are good but if you want anything cooked it is an utter shambles. Executive Chef should be sacked for overseeing such utterly disinterested cooks / chefs. Food is mediocre at best.

As usual wifi is extortionate and useless.

Best of a bad bunch is all I can say.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42slarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear 42slarty,
Many thanks for taking time to express your views on our Hotel. We would like to start by apologising for the below-par experience you had with us. As a business hotel, we are acutely aware of the need to create an atmosphere conducive to work and peace and quiet. Your remark in this respect will be addressed by our Management. As an independently run hotel, we make no excuse for poor service and thank you for your feedback on your dining experience. Our newly appointed Executive Chef is feverishly working at rising standards and we will be monitoring this closely.
Your feedback fuels our efforts to break away from the rest and set a higher benchmark.
We intend to exceed your expectations on your next visit to The African Regent Hotel, and we would gladly accept any additional feedback.
Thanking you again
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our night stop on the way to Kumasi. The shuttle from the Airport was our introduction to great hospitality. We had a corner room which could have passed for a suite. The room was spotless and staff very friendly and to crown it all the Hotel had a Bureau de Change on sight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Kafula M,

Thank you for your four star review of our boutique hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our amenities.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends on your next visit to Accra, hopefully this time to enjoy the sights and scenes that our city has to offer.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visit Ghana to spend time with family there. As typical US travelers, we decided to be what we are, tourists.
Mohamed met us at the African Regent, helping us with our bags and to get checked in.
We are unfamiliar with local transport; no surprise there! Staff helped us find reliable taxis and ensured the prices are not too exorbitant.
In the evening, when it's a bit cooler, there is often music by the pool and a superb bar with local roasted nuts.
Safe water is often a concern; the African Regent provides bottled water in your room at no added cost. Additionally, there is a clean bulk water supply in the first floor (European numbered) exercise room.
The morning breakfast, included in your room rate, is something! Good coffee, good staff, anything you can think of to eat! Be sure to fill your gullet, then head out on the town!
It's a unique place.

Room Tip: Rooms to the inside, away from Accra mall, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benzonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Benzonit,

Thank you for your shining review of our property. We are more than pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectation.

Our doors are always open to you and your family, should you decide to visit the shores of Ghana again.

A happy tourist equals a happy Hotel team – Thank you!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food is the best ive ever ate . The chef Mneimne Hichman is the bestt , he is friendly very proffesional . I recommend the hotel and the restuarant .
See ya soon Ghana i will stay there again n recomend to all my friends

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Alice N,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed our services and our facilities. Chef Mneimne Hichman is indeed a gem. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and we are happy to know you will recommend us to your friends.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I travel many times during for the buissnes to Accra . this time i choose The African Regent Hotel and i was really suprice.All over was perfect from the check in to the rooms. Every day they change us our towel and clean our room they give me a feeling that this is the priorety and of course i have to say well done !!! I have to Thank all the guys there specialy the Houskeeping and His manager they make a excellent job.
Of course i will Recoment this Hotel to my friends and collegues .
i will be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koulousias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Koulousias,

Greetings from all of us at The African Regent Hotel. We are happy and further motivated to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments to Housekeeping will be passed on and shared with the entire Housekeeping team.

Thank you for your comment and we are glad you made it back home safely.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a night at the African regent hotel about two months ago during a short business meeting. I must say it was a wonderful experience. Located in an emerging business district in Accra; 5 minutes drive from the city's airport and the Accra mall, its very convenient .The food was to die for and i had the pleasure of trying exquisite cuisines from a renowned chef. The lobby was very neat and the stuff also very cheerful and welcoming. The room was exceptionally clean and cozy. I recommend The African regent hotel to anyone going to Ghana for the first time as it will make your trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Fredric O,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad to know we lived up to your expectations. It will be a pleasure to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my second stay at the African Regent. The first time I was lucky enough to stay in the 2 bedroom suite (with a colleague) - which was stunning and much higher quality than the regular rooms (felt like a different property this time).

This hotel is located in a busy intersection - and close to the mall. While there is adequate security, it is sad to peer out the window of your room directly over a shanty village.

The only thing I had trouble with was my air conditioner which didn't seem to be working. I called the desk, and they immediately send up maintenance who pulled out the air filters (which were completely blocked with black ooze). After he cleaned and replaced them, the a/c was fine (disgusting to think I would have been breathing that in).

The restaurant service was extremely slow, they are set up more for buffets (so make sure you have more than an hour if you use the menu). The hallways and lobby are not air conditioned - so be prepared for extremely hot and humid the minute you leave your room.

On the upside, front desk staff are very professional and friendly, no problems with airport shuttle, and meeting facilities are good. It is also refreshing in this part of the world to feel like towels and sheets are clean (which is not a problem a the African Regent).

I feel they think they are a 5 star.....but in actual fact, a solid 3 star (from North American standards).

Room Tip: If you can swing for a suite - they are a great deal nicer and better kept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Marie B,
Thank you for your invaluable feedback on your experience with us, we truly appreciate it. Apologies for the unfortunate incidences with the air conditioner and the restaurant. We always value constructive criticism and use it as the fuel to re-double our efforts. As part our Guest Expectation Team (GET), we have already schedule an action plan on Restaurant service and have serviced all the air conditions in our rooms and replaced the ones that needed replacement.
Thank you and should you be traveling to Ghana again, we would love to be your host!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
633 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#15 of 90 in Accra
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237 / 238 Airport West | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range: £125 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed decor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing