We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend. Brilliant food and service from staff. Right from the doorman to the housekeepers. Really enjoyed my stay. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Accra.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kofi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Kofi M,
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with The African Regent Hotel during your recent trip to Accra. As an independently owned boutique hotel we endeavour to provide excellent customer service always and take great pleasure in knowing we have satisfied and happy guests like yourself.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. It's ideally situated near the airport and to my business venues when am in Accra. The restaurant always lives up to my expectations. The African hospitality is unpretentious.

I recommend it for those visiting Accra on business.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nodumo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Nodumo D,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Accra. We appreciate your loyalty to The African Regent brand.

We are delighted to know our location,restaurant and African hospitality lived up to your expectations. Our team takes pride in providing the highest level of service and seeing our guests enjoy their stay is our ultimate goal.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Another visit to this hotel for three nights over Easter, had a Junior suite with my 16 year old son occupying the lounge room part on a separate mattress. As usual the staff are smiling and helpful and make sure things get done, different attitude here, compared to other hotels in Accra. The hotel is clean, relaxing and well run. The food however still needs improvement. It has got better since my last visit late last year, especially the breakfast. The dinner buffet is still uninspiring though with the cold food particularly so. It is a convenient place to stay in Accra and they continue to invest in their staff which in turn makes this a relaxed stay with minor irritations like the non working lifts mentioned in other posts. Keep doing what you do well and work on the restaurant and food quality and you will continue to climb in the rankings.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank ianwhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Ianwhiteman,
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback about our property. We are happy to read this is your second time staying with us. We thank you for your continued patronage and support.

Customer feedback is at the core of our activities and we will work hard on addressing your concerns about our buffet.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice welcoming Lobby, one of the two lifts on the day of my arrival was not working making the wait to use the only operating lift very long at peak times.
My room was comfortable, very quiet, good tv selection channels (more European Channels would be a welcome addition), bathroom basic but functional, unfortunately the air condition was not working and despite reporting the fault it did not work for the duration of my one day stay.
Staff at the Lobby Bar very friendly same as the staff in the main restaurant where a good lunch buffet was served.
Pool area basic with good size swimming pool with very warm water.
Gym a waste of space, very small, hot and poor equipment.

Room Tip: one with working air conditioning..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uk747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Uk747,
Many thanks for making us your preferred hotel during your recent trip to Accra and we are happy to learn you had a comfortable stay with us.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the maintenance works being carried out on our lifts. We assure you, you would be pleased with the results on your next visit.

We would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Accra.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at the African regent hotel while on a business trip. The room and hospitality were great. The restaurant was amazing with different kinds of food. and professional chef. The location was convenient and safe. quality standards Comfortable Stay

Room Tip: •"Rooms are quiet" •"Corner suites are large and sunny" •"High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Ramzi I,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are excited to know you enjoyed our room,food, hospitality,services and our standards meet your expectations.

We look forward to being your preferred hotel again should travel bring you to Accra.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel rooms ate hit or miss with the air conditioning. My last stay I had to change rooms as the air conditioning unit was not cooling the room, this time the a/c was working, you need it here to jeep the Mosquitos at bay! A ten minute walk out of the hotel us a large South African style shopping mall with everything you need in it, mind you though you have to play chicken first trying to get across the dual carriageway, they don't have pedestrian walkways here! The hotel give you free internet but it's not the fastest and it keeps dropping and you have to continuously have to re-enter your pass code. To get to the pool you have to walk through reception in your swimming gear, go out of the front door of the hotel and walk round to the back, strange set up. The lifts are tiny, you can only fit one or at a squeeze two people with luggage in. There are two lifts but one has been out of service for days now. This hotel is ok especially for African standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theidco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Theidco,
We appreciate the time taken to share your stay at The African Regent Hotel with other seasoned travelers around the world. We are happy to learn this is your second time staying with us but we are unhappy to read about your disappointments with our wifi and lifts. We are currently in the process of changing our lifts and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience.

We hope you give us another chance to “wow” you on your next visit to Accra.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It's a wonderful masterpiece and well located in the heart of Accra.

It's more of a resort for a wonderful family holiday. At African regent hotel, you will always come back. The room rates are moderate.

In addition the members of staff right from men at the gate are welcoming and always smiling.

Especially Senior Guest Relations Officer (Ernestina) always beaming with smiles all over that made my stays more rewarding and wish to always come back every other time I find my self in Ghana, since its my first time at the hotel.

The senior Guest Relation Officer was able to give me more reasons why I should come back to the African regents hotel and not any other hotel in Ghana.

Therefore, every guest visiting Ghana; African Regent Hotel is your place to be.

Cheers.

Room Tip: I was in a club room, it's more spacious and well fitted. And on the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasisi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Lasisi S,
We are thrilled to read that you had a great stay here at The African Regent Hotel. As a boutique hotel we understand our staff is our strongest asset and we are happy to know you found them welcoming.
Your compliments have been shared with the rest of the team especially Ernestina. She extends her regards.

Our doors are always to you and we look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
633 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#15 of 90 in Accra
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237 / 238 Airport West | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range: £125 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed decor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing