We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. They greeted us with a free drink and made us feel very welcome. The pool area is spacious and there is a spa area that does amazing massages and pedicures/manicures.

Food and drinks are very reasonable and the pool bar at night is very relaxing. Just remember the deet!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ljmtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    148
    66
    16
    4
See reviews for
25
27
13
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great Stay, Great Hospitality, Would Recommend
Great Stay, Great Hospitality, Would Recommend
Great Stay, Great Hospitality, Would Recommend
Great Stay, Great Hospitality, Would Recommend
Great Stay, Great Hospitality, Would Recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia, Cape Verde
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I had a pleasant stay, after 2 days of flight delays, I was a grumpy guest but the staff were friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make my stay memorable. Breakfast was great and so were other meals.

Room was clean and comfortable.

Be careful if there are visiting dignitaries in the country for a summit or meeting, it can be quite chaotic and stressful otherwise my experiences were positive and would gladly visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay here for some days and I totally loved the place.
The food was superb. A lot of variety and plenty options to choose from.
The rooms were neat and spacious. Very clean bathrooms too.
I totally enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deep-portal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not too far from Kotoka international airport. The African Regent Hotel is situated in a busy area. Across from the hotel, is a shopping mall with a cinema and food court, with a variety of fast food and restaurants? The hotel itself has a large reception area with a local African décor. The Staff are generally very friendly and helpful, although two negatives regarding service appear to a rather slow check in and at the bar there is a tendency to over charge, so check what you order.
The rooms are simple and do have some amenities, the downside appears to be the bathrooms, which are small and most have leaks which give a damp smell to some.
Food is in the buffet restaurant and although they try very hard it is not quite up to what one would expect from this grade of hotel. The bar snacks are very good and served at the pool as well.
The large pool is off from the lobby; the one downside is its proximity to the busy road outside and tends to be dusty at times. Apart from that it is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent location for the airport.
I stayed here only one night between flights.
Very friendly staff as Ghanians are anyway.
Nice bar and pool area. Small but functioning gym
Nicely appointed rooms. Would not hesitate to choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozcmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Its location close to the airport is a plus, the reception staff friendly and check in/out was quick. The room I was given had no in room safe and the water was brown coming out of the taps not a good start, I was swiftly moved. The place once your away from the reception needs a good make over, can't put my finger on it but it needs something.The food in both the bar and restaurant was good (suffered no ill effects). The main issue I had with the hotel was no hot water for showers when you needed it and this is very poor. When I complained at reception the excuse was the system operates on solar power, so the question I had for them, being in the middle on the rainy season (lots of cloud cover) do guests have to wait for the rains to end to take a hot shower. You need a secondary system guys its a hotel and guests expect hot water when they need it.

The Air con worked in the room but was way off being quite, hard to sleep with the noise constantly in the background.

The room service was quick never had to wait to long.

Room Tip: Check your room air con / safe and that the water coming from the sink etc is not brown before you u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_Five_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
595 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 93 in Accra
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#20 of 93 in Accra
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 93 in Accra
131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Property: The African Regent Hotel
Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT 6143, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing